Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Is ther any way to open a webpage in a template?
#1
Hi

My squeezebox has finally given up the ghost, so I need a way to listen to BBC radio. In a normal browser, I can for example, open

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_fourfm

and get a small web page with the radio controls and the program info. As I run my house system in full screen mode, I cannot see this. Is there any way for CQC to open a web page in a template, or alternatively a way to create a fully transparent template so that the web page would show up underneath it. It would have to pass any click to the web page as well.

PJG
Reply
#2
isnt that exactly what the web doohicky widget thingy does?
(note I am 87.3% sure that "web doohicky widget" is not the correct name, but it is something like that...)
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Reply
#3
It's the Web Browser Widget. It is designed to display web content. You may want to be sure you are on 4.7.4, since it has a big fix that keeps some web content, particularly that based on flash content but possibly some other types of active content engines, to get wierded out.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#4
Dean Roddey Wrote:It's the Web Browser Widget. It is designed to display web content. You may want to be sure you are on 4.7.4, since it has a big fix that keeps some web content, particularly that based on flash content but possibly some other types of active content engines, to get wierded out.

I am currently on 4.7.1. Where is 4.7.4? Normally the updates are on the first page of the beta release for the next version, in this case version 5.0, but there is no 4.7.4 there.

PJG
Reply
#5
It's here:

http://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forum/sho...hp?t=11998

It's not really a beta, just post-release fixes. I've not uploaded 4.7.4 yet, but as more folks use it, it's probably time to go ahead and make it the official version.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#6
So near and yet so far!

I have installed 4.7.4 - no problem and set up a Web Widget for

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_fourfm

Unfortunately, although the web page loads, it throws up 2 different errors, one after the other in "Script Error" boxes. See JPG attached. The first box says 'JSON' underfined and the second just "Script error".

I really hope this is not a big issue, as otherwise it works perfectly and would mean that I can junk my Squeeze box and have streaming radio on every computer in the house.

PJG


Attached Files
.jpg   ScriptError.jpg (Size: 31.26 KB / Downloads: 9)
.jpg   ScriptError2.jpg (Size: 38.19 KB / Downloads: 6)
Reply
#7
What happens if you open the same URL in IE on the same system?
Mark Stega
Reply
#8
For whatever reason JavaScript is not accessible, or not in some sort of way. It obviously recognized it and tried to run it. But not to find the JSON class, which is fundamental to javascript, indicates that something is interfering with javascript. It's probably something to do with IE settings. To start, try adding that web site to your trusted sites on that machine and see if that helps.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#9
I have tried running the player

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio/fourfm

from IE 11 on my win 8.1 workstation and it works correctly, no script errors. I have added http://www.bbc.co.uk to both the Trusted sites list and the Compatibility view settings, but I still have script errors in CQC.

Does it work correctly for? I have attached my test template.

PJG


Attached Files
.cqctmplpack   RadioBBC.CQCTmplPack (Size: 53.3 KB / Downloads: 1)
Reply
#10
The same thing happens to me. It appears maybe it's doing cross domain scripting, which might be an issue, I dunno. One thing you might want to try is to set the compatibility mode of the embedded browser. It isn't the same necessarily as the standalone browser. You can force it via a registry entry, as indicated here in the second section on browser emulation:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library..._emulation

I think it defaults to IE7 mode.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Open sourcing CQC Dean Roddey 43 2,431 11-11-2020, 04:58 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Template scaling error NishanF 1 46 11-10-2020, 03:21 PM
Last Post: NishanF
  Open Weather Map - CurIcon zra 2 877 11-08-2019, 12:45 PM
Last Post: zra
  Template scaling George M 4 869 10-28-2019, 02:54 PM
Last Post: George M
  SOLVED: VLC dll Issues with CQC Interface Template Viewer gReatAutomation 3 1,213 06-17-2019, 06:17 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  template timeouts and LoadOverlay command Shaky 9 2,154 04-29-2019, 07:46 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  I've open sourced my general purpose code Dean Roddey 0 653 03-09-2019, 06:53 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Does the auto-gen template system support Roku? ghurty 3 1,414 12-31-2018, 06:14 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Hiding Command Buttons on template kfly 5 1,792 12-14-2018, 06:52 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Nice job on the scaling! 1 template for the 1st time! IVB 0 1,135 07-15-2018, 04:38 PM
Last Post: IVB

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)