Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Upgrading to 4.7.1 - License Key????
#1
It appears that the installation went flawlessly and the Installer is a massive step ahead in getting the installation done.

That is, until I got to the License Key. It wants some sort of file loaded. I have no clue as to which file it wants.

I suppose one question I have is why doesn't my old license key carry over in the installation of the new version? At the very least, shouldn't there be an easy place to paste it?

I'm currently running on a 7 day trial.
Reply
#2
This is standard. Any time you upgrade more than just a revision level (so major or minor version), you have to get a new license. Just send an e-mail to support at our domain, including your installation key and we can send you a new license. It's the same process you did when you first purchased. You'll just save the file and use the nag screen to load it. Once loaded, restart the CQC service, or just restart the server, and it'll take.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
Hi Dean,

I have query also related to this(and hope i'm not infringing on Deane's query). I recently also got a licence file from yourself for 4.7. I'm just wondering if I need to reinstall CQC on the same computer, do I need a new licence file or is it only if I move the installation to a different physical PC?

If the former, from what information does the install key get generated? Is it motherboard and some form of time-stamp? I just want a broad outline for the following reasons as I know this comes down to you keeping your licencing system secure also.

It's just that it is a bit of an anomaly as regarding purchasing software as technically I don't actually 'own' my version of the software, and while it may sound somewhat cold, it makes the future of my install dependent on Charmed Quark Systems being there in the future if I have a hd or motherboard blowout.

I guess what I'm trying to say in a round about way is that while I'm putting all this effort into getting my install up and running, I do play devils advocate and worry that if something goes awol with my set-up in future it is completely at the mercy of a third party (yourself) that I will be able to get a licence key at that stage and that does concern me. I would have this concern with any such software be it CQC or Microsoft for example.
Jim
Reply
#4
It's created from a number of pieces of information. There's no random information involved.

There are only two scenarios really. Either we are here and available to provide you with your key. Or we aren't, which means we are out of business. In the latter case will provide a license free version of the product before we go away. Or, most likely, we would keep it available only to existing customers for some period of time, and later make it license free.

So there's no real danger that you will end up not being able to reactivate the product.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#5
Dean Roddey Wrote:This is standard. Any time you upgrade more than just a revision level (so major or minor version), you have to get a new license. Just send an e-mail to support at our domain, including your installation key and we can send you a new license. It's the same process you did when you first purchased. You'll just save the file and use the nag screen to load it. Once loaded, restart the CQC service, or just restart the server, and it'll take.
In the spirit of the new 5.0 concept, I would rate the above as not good. The act of sending the Installation Key in for a License is fine, but that's where it falls apart. I should be able to post the license key into a dialogue box and the rest takes care of itself.

I don't know what a "nag screen" is or what it should look like. This is another of the small agonies of CQC that I would assume doesn't need to exist. You took a major hurdle out of the way with the Installer which I applaud. Now, as 5.0 is developed, if you get rid of the extra steps with the License code along with CQC not remembering log-in credentials, most of the up-front inconvenience of using the software would be out of the way.
Reply
#6
There is no license key in the sense of a number that you can paste in. It's a file you upload. The reason you have to restart the service is very purposeful, it's not a shortcoming left in due to lack of time or desire to make it better. That makes it vastly more difficult to crack the licensing scheme.

A 'nag screen' is the screen that nags you to get a new license when needed . Plenty of applications have them.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Upgrading to 6.0.2 znelbok 1 614 12-11-2021, 08:04 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Upgrading to 5.x cost? Deane Johnson 1 1,719 12-11-2017, 11:05 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Why I hate upgrading znelbok 13 5,182 01-03-2016, 02:22 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Trouble upgrading win7 client kayemsi 11 5,460 09-01-2012, 06:36 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Upgrading OS znelbok 1 2,387 08-27-2010, 04:02 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Errors when loading admin interface after upgrading to 2.2 Acropolis 11 4,815 10-10-2007, 12:59 AM
Last Post: Acropolis
  Installed 2.2.4, why do I need an new license file again penngray 1 1,677 08-27-2007, 09:52 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Upgrading for CQC wkearney99 6 3,645 01-09-2007, 05:30 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Upgrading to 2.0 diy8888 4 3,047 12-27-2006, 11:19 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)