Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Radar weather web widget crashed infviewer
I've been putting up with this problem for about two years now, and would like to resolve it if possible. I open the following in a web browser widget. On an intermittent basis, moving away from thepage containing this widget crashes the viewer.

http://haleycentral.com/InteractiveRadarLG.htm

Get an unhandled exception of unknown type thrown bu gui code.

Title: Interface Template Viewer [\User\iPad-Main]
Title2:
Line #: 0/0/0
Msg: An unhandled exception of unknown type was thrown by GUI code
Msg2: The application will exit now for safety purposes. Sorry

It has the radar weather display in the web widget.

Ron

Attached Files
.jpg   Capture.JPG (Size: 31.17 KB / Downloads: 4)
With CQC action trace open, it won't fail Smile
What version of CQC are you on?

There's always going to be some danger involved in the web widget. It's an opaque box, and many of the things you might run within it may never have been tested other than in the actual browser executable. A while back (like 4.6'ish) I went through that code to a ridiculous degree and made what changes I could see that might be of benefit.

But ultimately the errors were happening down inside the browser engine, not in CQC. And they would happen at a point that I couldn't do anything about them, because it was after I'd already destroyed the browser control and moved on. Something down in there continues to try to operate, even after the browser control is destroyed and causes this exception.

Given that the ones that have the issue are always ones that are running some kind of ongoing script, I'm guessing that the scripting engine doesn't stop all the time when the browser engine object is destroyed. It then later tries to access a now destroyed object and causes this exception. Looking at your page, it is also one of those types.