Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Field Incr/Decr Button Widget
#11
Just a thought, haven't looked myself. Is there a min/max function such that you could do something like set(min(limit, new value)) and similar for decreases? I know the syntax is whack, but the concept is there.
Flamin' Noobie...
Warp speed now and don't give me any of that dilythium crystal crap!
Reply
#12
There isn't anything like that currently, but it's fairly simple to do. Just something like:

Code:
If (System::LessThan(%(LVar:NewValue), minval))
    LocalVars::SetValue(LVar:NewValue, minval);
EndIf;

That will just clip it to the lowest value. And similarly the other way for clipping to the max.

There is a IsInNumericRange, which will check if a value is within a given range, but that's not exactly what you need.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#13
I guess the innumericrange could be used as a single test for both up and down.
Flamin' Noobie...
Warp speed now and don't give me any of that dilythium crystal crap!
Reply
#14
Earlier today I discovered LinkToField, and it is going to save me a LOT of time creating a thermostat popup (and many other location-aware things). The only issue is that with the loss of inc/dec functionality, I have to use a Command Button widget to change temperatures, and that widget (understandably) doesn't support LinkToField.

Does anyone know of a way to implement inc/dec and LinkToField at the same time?
Reply
#15
Just save the moniker of the current thermo in a global variable. The actions can reference that moniker to create the target fields names, so something like:

Devices::WriteField(%(GVar:CurThermo).Mode, xxxx, True);

That sort of thing.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#16
Oh wow - that's great! I already have the value in a GVar - that's how I'm passing context for the LinkToField settings.

The more I use actions, the more I appreciate what a nice job you did on dynamically building values. :-) At first I thought it was odd that you were saving actual text values for field and variable references, rather than some kind of internal ID. But now I understand. ;-)
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Error writing value to field Spot 6 1,628 05-28-2021, 03:22 PM
Last Post: Spot
  Trigger on Russound F1 button xlurkr 6 2,127 06-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  How to copy/paste command button on template Deane Johnson 1 1,003 04-17-2020, 02:18 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Button Generator gReatAutomation 0 944 02-28-2020, 01:33 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Timed Field Change in Lutron HW8 avtexan 11 6,402 08-06-2018, 11:17 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  ELK V2 Driver - AreaArm field & Triggers? sic0048 4 4,397 08-19-2017, 04:46 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Video Widget znelbok 67 41,028 04-12-2017, 04:08 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  An idea for a new widget Dean Roddey 5 4,606 03-13-2017, 02:47 PM
Last Post: potts.mike
  Web browser widget Trioxide 7 5,843 02-25-2017, 06:30 AM
Last Post: Trioxide
  How to pass a variable into a field moniker EST 3 2,878 08-30-2016, 11:01 AM
Last Post: EST

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)