Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Trying CQC, need help with buttons
#31
Well, relay devices tend to be among the simplest. If you find one you think suits the need and it's controllable, let me know and I can take a look at it.

Are any of your relay needs near the GC-100s? They have 3 per and those are available via the GC-100 driver.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#32
BTW, don't forget to disable the serial port server again, and probably go ahead and get rid of the port forward as well.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#33
And what makes you so sure you won't need the port forward again?:-)
Reply
#34
We may. And as long as the port server is disabled, it should be safe to leave it in place.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#35
I did install the driver for the GC-100 and it showed being connected. I have to watch the video and do some study before messing with it further. My goal is to simply have a test button on the interface screen that will open and close my DVD player drawer. Once I can accomplish that, it's all redundancy moving forward.

I really am appreciative of the time you spent helping me today.
Reply
#36
Glad to see you made some progress today!
Reply
#37
Tomorrow will be a new day pleading for help as I attempt the GC-100.:-)

Actually, I'm busy with appointments in the morning, so it will be later before I get started.
Reply
#38
Deane Johnson Wrote:The relays will be the toughest because Carl doesn't always have some built up
that's not true... you could always just make your own...
Deane Johnson Wrote:I hate the thought of building these kits. I need 12 relays, so it takes 2 of them.
well, maybe a DiY option isn't the best choice for you then :-)
have you considered using a PLC?
PLC's have a certain amount of 'smarts' built into to them, so they can run semi autonomously giving you the most robust solution possible, ie even if your master control server/PC crashes and burns as PC's (or in my case Hard drives/SSD's) occasionally tend to do, whatever you have hooked up to the PLC will still have at least basic functionality...
the Koyo Click PLC is a pretty good value... starting at $70

and CQC already has a driver for it...

or another option is Weedtech (I just like their name...)... they have a couple different output modules
no current drivers for any of their stuff, but not to hard to make your own... I have their I/O module, works well...
although, it still hard to beat the over all value of the Koyo...

of course, at this point I would personally still just do something 100% DiY, just for fun... all it would take is a PIC (or arduino if you are into that sort of thing) and a bunch of relays...
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Reply
#39
Aren't those Rain8 guys effectively just 8 relays? I guess you will be paying for some irrigation type functionality you don't need though.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#40
@SomeWhatLost

Those are interesting boxes you linked to, but I get lost to fast to deal with anything that requires modification. I like the serious look of them, but fear I'd get in trouble too fast.

@Dean

I believe the Relay8 version of the Rain8 has been discontinued. Luckily, I found a page that indicates the Carl's is now available in a built up version.

http://www.electronickits.com/kit/comple...ck1610.htm

The shades are two wire low voltage, nothing but the shade motor and a power supply. The shades have built in stops at the top and bottom. Reversing the DC power lead changes the direction.

Basically, it takes a DPDT relay for each shade. Since almost all of the available boards have SPST relays only, I use two relays per shade and effectively turn two relays into a single DPDT. Works fine, but requires a total of 12 relays instead of six, hence the need for two Carl's kits.

The fact that CQC has a v2 driver for these makes them attractive. When you use two kits, I assume each is connected to a separate serial port and two CQC drivers are used, each assigned to a different COM port.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Controlling Insteon Scene Controller buttons ellisr63 8 5,960 10-14-2014, 11:38 AM
Last Post: SomeWhatLost
  Toolbar and buttons ellisr63 1 1,811 09-19-2013, 06:36 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Touchpanel with hard buttons IVB 4 2,308 12-18-2007, 03:31 PM
Last Post: LesAuber
  Variable problem with 2 buttons ellisr63 0 1,402 08-01-2007, 01:43 PM
Last Post: ellisr63
  hopefully my last silly question (mapping mouse buttons) willplaice 1 1,498 01-31-2007, 03:36 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Getting name of widget in the action for that widget? and q on exclusive buttons. Sendero 10 4,150 01-15-2007, 04:03 PM
Last Post: Sendero
  How do I have one set of control (on/off) buttons for multiple devices? Sendero 16 4,096 11-29-2006, 12:13 PM
Last Post: Sendero
  Looking for "action" help for buttons. rodaaent 8 3,271 10-29-2006, 09:42 AM
Last Post: rodaaent
  How are you emulating radio buttons? IVB 3 2,305 10-28-2006, 09:53 AM
Last Post: ellisr63

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)