Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Replacement HVAC system
#1
Likely going with Trane XC95m furnace and XL20i AC. Higher end units with the cool features that as gadget freaks we love (how often does one replace these? - 15+ years for me).

Now that I've justified such a replacement system, can anyone offer guidance on integrating with CQC (and/or ELK). The contractors seem to want to sell their proprietary thermostats based on ComfortLink™ II communicating technology. I'm not paying a monthly subscription, that's for sure.

http://www.trane.com/residential/products/gas-furnaces

http://www.trane.com/residential/product...nditioners

Appreciate any advice regarding this system/configuration (or should I look in another direction).

Mark
Reply
#2
I dislike how touchy my Aprilaire 8870 is to loose automation wiring. I have to pop it off, jiggle the wires, and pop it back on 1x/month. Furnace isn't affected, but it'll lose communication with either Elk or CQC until I do that.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#3
My RCS has been working well with the Elk. I originally had issues with it missing commands, but I had my rules send the info a few times and that seemed to fix it.

I have heard of other tstats having similar issues with the Elk, I don't think the Elk validates tstat commands in general.

I would really research your possibilities before proceeding. I found this thread . Not sure what to make of ComfortLink II, it may have zwave, it may have a web interface. But I would contact the vendor/reseller and try to get the API.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply
#4
I have RCS thermostats paired directly with CQC via a RS-485 to RS-232 converter. They are rock solid. I've never had an issue and they are fully featured IMHO (ie the commands available in CQC handle just about any scenario you can come up with).

I would highly recommend them if they would work with your new system. Sometimes you have to use the proprietary control because the systems are so "smart" now.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#5
wuench Wrote:My RCS has been working well with the Elk. I originally had issues with it missing commands, but I had my rules send the info a few times and that seemed to fix it.

I have heard of other tstats having similar issues with the Elk, I don't think the Elk validates tstat commands in general.

I would really research your possibilities before proceeding. I found this thread . Not sure what to make of ComfortLink II, it may have zwave, it may have a web interface. But I would contact the vendor/reseller and try to get the API.

Thanks wuench, this is helpful (although not definitive as we can see). From what I gather so far, the Comfortlink II thermostat (XL950) appears wifi and gets the Z-wave component by linking to the Nexia bridge. The contractors don't know anything and don't even really want to discuss outside the box options. Heck, most of the ones I've talked to try to talk me down from the higher end stuff probably because they are afraid of it.

One guy has a contact at Trane support who is supposed to be a great resource (and difficult to reach because of that). I'm pursuing that angle now.
Reply
#6
sic0048 Wrote:I have RCS thermostats paired directly with CQC via a RS-485 to RS-232 converter. They are rock solid. I've never had an issue and they are fully featured IMHO (ie the commands available in CQC handle just about any scenario you can come up with).

I would highly recommend them if they would work with your new system. Sometimes you have to use the proprietary control because the systems are so "smart" now.

I'm a fan of the RCS having great success with the X-10 version for 15 years. Their TR-16 RS-485 would be my second choice if the Trane branded unit can't be integrated into the CQC/Elk/ISY (any one of those would take care of it).

My concern is the RCS might not support the advanced features; a variable speed fan for example. I don't know how much is handled by the on-board controller on the HVAC equipment and how much is in the thermostat.

Hard to believe so few people have attempted integrating these communicating HVAC systems with existing HA.
Reply
#7
Does RCS have a thermostat that does handle more advanced features such as variable speed blowers? Thanks.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  System::Pause gReatAutomation 1 821 09-03-2020, 03:05 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  GE Heavy Duty 40 Amp Outdoor Switch (14285) / Misting System gReatAutomation 0 1,117 06-11-2019, 04:44 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  RadioRa2 HVAC Issues avtexan 67 24,602 10-01-2018, 11:51 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Adding custom tiles/overlays to the auto-gen system Dean Roddey 1 1,999 07-20-2018, 08:14 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  System Config tom 35 15,427 01-12-2018, 09:02 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  New HVAC System - Nest? dgage 5 4,741 05-24-2017, 11:15 AM
Last Post: dgage
  Keep system from sleeping George M 8 7,182 01-20-2017, 06:37 PM
Last Post: wuench
  Porting Auto-Gen Music Templates to Existing System TurboSam 4 3,739 08-31-2016, 01:08 PM
Last Post: TurboSam
  Need help to get a working system on CQC ellisr63 26 12,749 10-19-2015, 05:05 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Kiosk Error: "No CQC System ID was set" TurboSam 3 3,332 07-26-2015, 01:16 PM
Last Post: TurboSam

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)