Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
serial splitter
#1
Sorry I submitted earlier to the wrong area

How do I connect multiple devices to cqc. Using serial? Can a usb to serial b used?
thanks zane
Reply
#2
The Global Cache is one device that has built in serial port(s) as well as IR control and it is supported natively in CQC over ethernet. Other serial to ethernet converters you need to load some software on the PC to create virtual serial ports, but those will work as well. Converting to ethernet is the best solution for long distances.

Or, if you want to connect directly to the server then you can just put in a multiport serial card. But RS232 can't be split, it is point to point.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply
#3
I did see software for making virtual com ports. Will the program work with cqc? If I did go with global cache. How would I hook multiple devices up from global cache using ethernet or would it just connect thru my network?
Reply
#4
I did see software for making virtual com ports. Will the program work with cqc? If I did go with global cache. How would I hook multiple devices up from global cache using ethernet or would it just connect thru my network?
Reply
#5
The global cache connects through your network. There are different models that have one or two serial ports. And you can use multiple global caches. With those you don't need the virtual com port software, it is built into CQC. The global cache has additional benefits, like IR control.

Otherwise, generally the converters that use their own virtual serial port software will work. The just look like a normal attached serial port to the OS and CQC.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply
#6
I just looked at your website. Very cool setup. Do u hav multi zone audio? I makin my basement under the stairs the brain of my house. Do u by chance hav any wiring scematic for doing a home automation system?
Reply
#7
Yes. There are serial expanders that you can get. Some are internal that will take a PCI/PCIe slot and provide RS-232 ports while others are external and plug into the computer via a USB cord.

I have used both kinds and they work equally as well. I currently use some Digi Edgeports which are external expanders. They come in different sizes from 2 ports all the way up to 16 ports. I'm using the 16 port variety which is rack mount size if you end up with an equipment rack.

Just make sure that you look for expanders with RS-232 and DB-9 connectors. That is the most commonly used protocol and connector type in the equipment we try to control. (They also make these with DB-25 connectors - but you don't want those).

Here is an example of the Digi Edgeport 416 that I currently use. That price is a little high however - although it is for new stock. I think I've generally paid between $100 and $150 for used units.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#8
Does the edgeport 416 work with cqc?

Thanks zane
Reply
#9
Whatever one you pick check back here to see if it is ok to use... Reason being is sometimes you will see a good deal on eBay and it will turn out to be a very old one that had problems.
tia, Ron

My HT equipment I want to control by CQC (some day hopefully)
Yamaha CX-A5100, Dune HD pro 4k, Dune HD Pro 4k plus, ISY 994i, LG 86" 4k FP, and a projector in the future
Reply
#10
zane Wrote:Does the edgeport 416 work with cqc?

Thanks zane

If it's a new one, it should be fine. There were some models years ago that had some stability issues. So, in theory, if you get a used one, and it's a model that existed back then, that you could get a bad one. But generally if it's reasonably new you will be fine.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Intermittent Serial Connection LesAuber 4 7,122 08-02-2020, 09:18 PM
Last Post: LesAuber
  What is being used for TV Serial control bobskie708 14 12,067 08-16-2017, 08:38 PM
Last Post: potts.mike
  Serial Port Demons batwater 13 11,469 03-06-2017, 02:30 PM
Last Post: batwater
  cheap single port TCP/Serial? SomeWhatLost 15 8,026 08-22-2016, 08:12 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Consensus on Current Serial Controlled TVs zpollock 21 9,710 06-10-2016, 07:15 PM
Last Post: DaveB
  Trouble with Generic Serial Passthrough/StarTech RS232 hub pbohannon 7 4,747 06-04-2014, 04:08 AM
Last Post: LesAuber
  Serial Control Questions jbh5000 10 6,747 06-05-2013, 12:14 PM
Last Post: jbh5000
  Serial Server help needed ellisr63 19 8,064 03-02-2013, 06:24 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Serial Card Woes LesAuber 8 4,245 07-08-2012, 02:56 PM
Last Post: LesAuber
  serial cable for ipad/ipod znelbok 3 3,199 12-28-2010, 03:43 PM
Last Post: znelbok

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)