Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work Laptop (Win 8) connect to CQC on Home Machine (Win 7 Pro)
#1
My work pc is on a domain. Home pc a homegroup.

When they were both Windows 7 I had no problems connecting. Trying now I cannot seem to get this to work. From googling it looks like in Win8 I cannot be on a domain and join a homegroup like in 7. Perhaps I stink at google though. Is there some other mechanism around this?
Reply
#2
CQC does not require a domain or workgroup to function. While I have not played with Win8 personally, if you running DNS it is pretty easy. Make sure you have a forward and reverse entry for each machine. If you are not running DNS, you can put the appropriate entries in your hosts files. I am not sure where that lives in Win8.

Russ...
Reply
#3
A number of ports would have to be opened. It would probably be a bit of a risk to do it directly. It would be better if you used a RIVA client, which only requires two ports and, worst case, some DOS attack would only stop the RIVA server from working, not the other servers. And the RIVA server doesn't have to do any name lookups, you can just put your IP address in as the target server and that's all it requires. It never has to find any other servers by name lookup.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  An Idea - CQC as Front End for Home Assistant znelbok 3 250 04-28-2022, 07:58 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  Admin Interface Help Doesn't Work alexismtz13 1 164 04-28-2022, 01:14 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  WebRiva add to home screen fix NishanF 2 1,097 11-16-2020, 08:54 AM
Last Post: sic0048
  Way back machine... royalj7 2 811 10-03-2020, 10:53 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  Denon x3600H won't connect dangerlong 8 2,519 12-09-2019, 06:15 AM
Last Post: dangerlong
  IOS Homescreen Webriva fails to connect zra 5 2,448 10-05-2019, 12:26 PM
Last Post: zra
  Can the ecobee lite work with CQC? ghurty 1 959 07-22-2019, 12:56 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  CML Driver IDE [copy/paste] does not work lleo 2 1,640 11-25-2018, 10:01 AM
Last Post: lleo
  IV works on Desktop, not Laptop ControlFreak 6 2,129 11-16-2018, 07:12 PM
Last Post: ControlFreak
  If starting fresh, what is the best garage door system to go with to work with CQC? ghurty 1 1,702 08-30-2018, 03:23 PM
Last Post: znelbok

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)