Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Remote Control Questions
Hello Everyone, I am new here and forgive me if this is a "low level" question.

I have been doing some research and seem to confuse myself more by the second when it comes to remote controls.

Any guidance is appreciated or if you could just point me to a thread/keyword/article to elaborate it would be greatly appreciated.

I am new to CQC and I am currently experimenting with the trial version. I just purchased a 5600 SQFT home and want to retro fit it for automation. (I know retrofitting is a pain so I want to make sure I do it right the first time).

I am struggling with the remote control situation....IR Transmitter vs IR Repeater vs RS-232 etc...

Here are my general assumptions and confusions based on my research.

RS-232 is much more reliable & accurate. I have experimented with controlling my current LG Plasma over the RS-232 and it works great, but I have noticed that a lot of the newer TV's do not have RS-232 only Ethernet.

Also, I prefer for all of my commands to be routed to through CQC and then out to the end devices. I would like to be able to use touch screens/ipads etc....but for flipping channels and adjusting volume it seems like a standard handheld remote is by far the best option.

Assume I have a TV on the wall with a serial port and a cable box (tivo) with an ethernet connection in a media closet in the basement. Assume the TV is running off HDMI over Cat6 using an extender etc....

Here are my questions:

1. Can I run a seperate Cat5/6 with a RJ45->DB9 adapter to connect to my TV's my serial port? If so on the end that connects in the media closet does it go into my standard network switch? Or do I need some sort of serial port switch? Assuming my controlling PC only has 1 serial port and I have multiple serial devices is there some sort of switch/splitter to connect mutliples? How do they get networked in or do I have to add multiple serial ports to the PC?