Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Include Variable in button text?
#1
Not sure which forum to post this in, but was wondering if it's possible to include a variable in a button's text.

Specifically, it would be convenient to include a light's current dim level in the button name.

Russ
Flamin' Noobie...
Warp speed now and don't give me any of that dilythium crystal crap!
Reply
#2
You would have to build up a composite type of control, with a transparent button over the top of a display graphic. You can always use the transparent button's onpress/onrelease to fake a press release in the underlying graphic.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
I'm doing something similar I suppose. I built an iphone template for my lights. I have about 8 check buttons, and each one represents a particular light. When I select any light, the intensity slider streams instructions to the correct light. I also have one dim level text box that shows the level of the currently selected light. I guess that's like how you would suggest me doing this.

I did it this way so I only have to have a column of buttons for my different lights, a column of buttons for 0/20/40/60/80/100 percent dim, and then of course a slider if I really want fine control. Makes for a clean template for the iphone.

Thinking this through, and considering options.... we have the ability to use a progress bar to display values (normally between 0 and 100) but could be others. Have you considered having the ability to change the opacity of a button or graphic on the fly? EG, I would create an led style button, and it's intensity would reflect the current dim level.

Thanks again for your ever present help.

PS, I think I queried once before, but have you considered tapatalk app for the forum? I think vbulletin has the option and the owner only has to turn on a few config options.

Russ
Flamin' Noobie...
Warp speed now and don't give me any of that dilythium crystal crap!
Reply
#4
It's been on the list for a while to have a color fill based on value, and an opacity would be about the same thing. I'll have to tackle that at some point.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Trigger on Russound F1 button xlurkr 6 1,820 06-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  How to copy/paste command button on template Deane Johnson 1 845 04-17-2020, 02:18 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Button Generator gReatAutomation 0 836 02-28-2020, 01:33 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Echo as Text-To-Speech jkmonroe 8 6,210 12-13-2016, 07:43 AM
Last Post: potts.mike
  How to pass a variable into a field moniker EST 3 2,678 08-30-2016, 11:01 AM
Last Post: EST
  Wireless and attractive CQC "button"/keyfob? IVB 5 3,309 06-22-2015, 06:20 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Field Incr/Decr Button Widget khill 15 7,791 05-17-2015, 01:04 PM
Last Post: dlmorgan999
  Cancelling Blanker causes triggering underlying button Deane Johnson 25 8,568 11-22-2014, 08:50 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Text to Speech and Sonos jkmonroe 10 6,782 02-18-2014, 05:18 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Variable Times for Triggered Events TurboSam 9 5,529 11-19-2013, 10:00 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)