Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Itunes Control??
I am new to the CQC world but have been very active in creating a system, and potentially become an integrator. I have a quick question regarding CQC and audio. I have looked at what I think is everything currently supported. I have played with squeeze server and the built in audio repository. My conclusion is that for my customers the ease of use and low learning curve of iTunes (most already use it) makes is the winner. I have played with syncing iTunes automatically with squeeze server but found it wasn't as reliable as I would like. Please correct me if I’m wrong. I have decided to use iTunes as the actual audio player and use a blend of Apple remote (iTunes iPhone control app) and CQC for one way control. So.. What's the best way to control iTunes running on a separate PC. I see two possibilities.

1) Use more software (VectIR)to take IR commands generated from CQC and control iTunes via COM interface. As lame as this solution is from an integrators standpoint it works.

2) Use of the CQC AppControl client to run VB commands on the ITunes machine to control ITunes. This is a little cleaner but I am still having problems getting it to work. In theory is will work though.

Are there any other methods I am missing? Is there a better way to do this?

Any thoughts?

Thanks guys
That's always the problem it seems. People want to use iTunes because it's simple to use, but unfortunately they don't take automation seriously at all and the automation interface leaves a lot to be desired.