Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
what are you using for a pre-amp/audio switcher?
#1
I think i will be in the need of a pre-amp/audio switcher soon to feed my amps. Looking for recommendations of units that are controllable by CQC. I dont need amplication in it.

Thanks

Philip
Reply
#2
You mean a multi-zone deal, right?
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
yes thats it
Reply
#4
I'm sure you can find a cheap analog audio autopatch on EBay or somewhere similar (something like this or even this). If you want stereo sound, you'll need to use two inputs and two outputs for each input/output. So the number of devices or zones will be 1/2 of the total number of inputs/outputs.

Another option could be the ClearOne (or Gentner) AP800. It has 8 inputs/outputs so it could give you a 4x4 switch.

Search for Matrix switch when looking on Ebay, etc and compare what you find to the available drivers on CQC. The biggest difference between an audio matrix switch and the whole house audio systems is the lack of amplification or keypads on the matrix switches. But it sounds like you don't need either.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#5
A few here have been using the ClearOne AP800 which goes on e-Bay for about $50-$100. This is an originally $4000 device. There is a new driver for it also now. Check out the beta driver area. Its around an 8X8 matrix depending on how you count it, and you can chain multiple units together. It DOES use balanced audio which may be good or may be bad, and its mono, so it takes two for stereo.

EDIT: Ooops, I now see sic0048 already mentioned it, but I will add its more than a 4X4 unless you are considering it as stereo. It has 8 outputs, 4 mic inputs, and a few other inputs. Take a look. Its pretty flexible.
Reply
#6
I've got an older version of one of these Vaux units.

Seems they upgraded/modified the protocol so I don't think it would work with the driver I wrote. They are nice units as they control volume, bass, treble, etc for each output.

Brian
Reply
#7
what i want to do is this.... RCA outs from my server to a RCA splitter. this will input to 3 of my denon receivers for music in those rooms. volume is controlled via the denon. My outdoor zone has 12 channels so i want to get a 12-channel amp, but i need something between that and the splitter that will allow my to control the volume, treble, bass etc... to that zone with CQC.
Reply
#8
anogee Wrote:EDIT: Ooops, I now see sic0048 already mentioned it, but I will add its more than a 4X4 unless you are considering it as stereo. It has 8 outputs, 4 mic inputs, and a few other inputs. Take a look. Its pretty flexible.
I can take a picture of the back panel if anyone wants it. I have one in my office at home. I do believe it's 8x8 mono though.

Russ...
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Multiroom Audio Suggestions kblagron 4 4,241 08-17-2017, 03:21 PM
Last Post: znelbok
  Anyone doing TTS without lag in audio? IVB 5 3,668 05-15-2017, 12:22 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Marantz Network Audio Players cavalier240 7 4,786 11-10-2015, 07:15 PM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Troubles Connecting to Octava Matrix Switcher jokermac 8 3,664 05-25-2015, 09:04 AM
Last Post: jokermac
  Preferred whole house audio rtarver 24 11,095 05-14-2014, 06:32 PM
Last Post: jkish
  Need QCQ Controlled Audio Solution anogee 4 3,678 08-02-2013, 07:47 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Audio files not loading dman000000 17 8,960 07-12-2013, 05:38 PM
Last Post: dman000000
  roku as audio source IVB 2 2,332 01-22-2013, 11:19 AM
Last Post: IVB
  Best audio format??? rtarver 5 3,106 12-26-2012, 02:10 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Audio player that integrates with Google Music? IVB 5 2,987 11-08-2012, 10:22 AM
Last Post: IVB

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)