Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Will this work as server?
#1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856101037

I want to be able to use it with windows xp and serve music movies etc. Just want to make sure that if I put a quad core it will be able to work with CQC.


Thanks
Reply
#2
A quad core would likely be huge overkill for a server, unless it was really going to be serving a lot of clients. For a server, generally disc I/O capacity is more important. The actual CQC servers use very little juice. The real issue is that the guy can cough up the amount of data that the clients need. And also the issue of redundancy of the discs if you are going to be spending time ripping CDs and DVDs onto it, so some sort of at least RAID1 configuration.

If it's just going to be spooling out data, as apposed to doing the playing of the media on that machine (which is not recommend to do), then you could get away considerably less I'm sure, in terms of CPU anyway.

The only time that CPU might be an issue is if this guy was gonig to be the backend for a fair number of RIVA clients, in which case the bulk of the work goes on on the server for drawing all of the graphics and such.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
Thanks for the reply rodney, Do you have any recommendations on what would be a perfect machine for this set up. I want it to look nice with the other equipment and I do not want it to be a full blown tower "noise and space".

I always put my pc's together so barebone system would be fine, unless there is a nice system pre assembled that does not break the bank. Would like to stay under 1k on this part of the project.
Reply
#4
I use to run my CQC server and my SageTV server on the same P4 3.0 ghz machine. It had no problems running CQC or recording the TV shows (I used another device for the playback - the P4 could not handle HD playback). There are people running the CQC server on low power fanless machines. It really doesn't take much.

I would say any dual core machine should work. If you want something with low power consumption, then even a lower power processor will work. But a dual core will leave you the flexability to run just about anything (like the datalogger driver and SQL database) or connect as many devices as you would ever need.

If you spend more than $500 I'd say you spent too much ;-)
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  CQC Server? gReatAutomation 3 1,451 03-23-2020, 05:29 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Server hardware question rhosch 3 2,277 10-02-2019, 11:19 AM
Last Post: rhosch
  Server Hardware for WebRiva greyjeep 4 2,528 08-04-2019, 07:15 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Master server PC Mark Stega 10 4,127 06-12-2019, 09:51 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  CQC error installing on server 2016 zane 3 2,304 05-28-2019, 12:07 PM
Last Post: zane
  master server crash tom 8 3,838 10-21-2018, 04:21 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  MS Speech Platform configuration on Windows Server 2012 mbrown 3 4,201 08-30-2017, 09:34 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Master Server Migration codihoffman 6 6,056 08-02-2017, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  New fanless server? Gigabyte rtarver 2 3,093 05-13-2017, 09:24 AM
Last Post: rtarver
  new server; win7 or win10, or win server rtarver 9 7,114 05-03-2017, 05:17 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)