Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Official RIVA thread
Does the NewTemplate message indicate the size of the maximum rectangle which might ever contain useful content for that template? And is a NewTemplate sent every time the template changes?
Reply
Well, it indicates the size of the base template. Nothing in that template can be drawn outside of it, so effectively that's true. However, a popup can go beyond the bounds of the base template. But, it wouldn't really matter in the case where the base template fits the screen. The extra stuff wouldn't be visible anyway and it would represent a fairly pathological case that I don't think anyone would worry too much about. I think that if you make the assumption that you never actually need to draw anything outside of the area of the base template, then you will be fine. I don't think it's much of a limitation to require folks to keep their popups within the bounds of the parent template if they want paging to work correctly.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
So how did Sam design his set of templates? Did he create a 320x480 set, then duplicated everything in a 480x320 set, and coded a button to switch between both sets (or maybe he uses a RIVA action...)?
Field Generator 0.65: Create CQC fields on the fly, from external applications.
Mobile templates 0.4: Main resolution of 320x480 with navigation side bars (384x544).
Sage Media Server 1.1.3 + Sage Player 2.7.8: Display and manipulate SageTV information or player.
TaRIVA 1.26: Android RIVA client.
Reply
The iRIVA application sends hotkey messages on orientation changes that the user can respond to however. In my case I load the alternate set of templates.
Reply
OK, that's what I meant with my "RIVA action" guess. Wink
Field Generator 0.65: Create CQC fields on the fly, from external applications.
Mobile templates 0.4: Main resolution of 320x480 with navigation side bars (384x544).
Sage Media Server 1.1.3 + Sage Player 2.7.8: Display and manipulate SageTV information or player.
TaRIVA 1.26: Android RIVA client.
Reply
I'm having troubles with my RIVA clients now. None of them will connect. I use the iPaq, Windows, and Android clients and all were working and now are not.

I get this error in the CQC Log:
An exception occurred in the image download thread
An exception occurred in worker thread X (a number from 1 to 8)
The connection was reset
An exception occurred in the image download thread
etc
etc
etc

I haven't change my setup regarding the RIVA clients or server. I recently upgraded to 3.3.16 but I cannot remember if this is the start of my problems or not.

Any suggestions?
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
sic0048 Wrote:I'm having troubles with my RIVA clients now. None of them will connect.
Have you double checked that the RIVA account still tries to use a valid template, and that you hadn't renamed/deleted it?
Field Generator 0.65: Create CQC fields on the fly, from external applications.
Mobile templates 0.4: Main resolution of 320x480 with navigation side bars (384x544).
Sage Media Server 1.1.3 + Sage Player 2.7.8: Display and manipulate SageTV information or player.
TaRIVA 1.26: Android RIVA client.
Reply
Fonceur Wrote:Have you double checked that the RIVA account still tries to use a valid template, and that you hadn't renamed/deleted it?

Yup - I've tried multiple users and multiple default templates.

My iPaq RIVA clients seemed to be working fine until I disconnected them and tried to log back in. Now they won't connect either and cycle through getting that error listed in my above post.

It is rather strange, but something is clearly broken. I just don't know if it is on my end or with CQC.

I'd be curious to know if other RIVA users have updated to the latest beta and if their RIVA clients will connect OK.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
sic0048 Wrote:Now they won't connect either and cycle through getting that error listed in my above post.
Have you tried rebooting or at least restarting the CQC service?
Field Generator 0.65: Create CQC fields on the fly, from external applications.
Mobile templates 0.4: Main resolution of 320x480 with navigation side bars (384x544).
Sage Media Server 1.1.3 + Sage Player 2.7.8: Display and manipulate SageTV information or player.
TaRIVA 1.26: Android RIVA client.
Reply
I have seen the RIVA server get into a bad state and restarting the CQC Service was the fix. Although this was during the early betas, hasn't happened to me lately.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Html 5 Riva potts.mike 9 13,821 09-15-2013, 04:22 AM
Last Post: bjkiller
  Thinking about the next step in RIVA Dean Roddey 6 11,067 01-22-2013, 06:15 AM
Last Post: brianmount
  .Net RIVA Client Dean Roddey 146 119,648 02-06-2012, 06:53 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Transparent images in RIVA? SamVimes2 36 48,503 02-05-2011, 04:34 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  riva burkepaol4 1 8,367 12-17-2010, 11:39 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Riva screen blanker on CF.NET froop 3 8,235 08-06-2010, 10:34 PM
Last Post: froop
  RIVA Connection batwater 6 8,889 07-16-2010, 04:46 PM
Last Post: batwater
  Java based RIVA Client? batwater 10 13,134 04-03-2010, 05:35 AM
Last Post: wuench
  RIVA Client for Linux bryanb 22 20,569 07-16-2009, 09:11 PM
Last Post: bjkiller

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)