Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Russound help needed
#1
First off, IVB thanks for the webinar yesterday. I had to bail because the kids were starting a meltdown and not helping out is very low WAF....

I suppose my first question is: Where can I find driver documentation? I think I've downloaded every document from the CQC site but I don't see anything that explains how to actually use the individual drivers. In particular I'm working my getting the my russound system going.

I have a russound cav system connected to CQC and the driver is working. I've connected some controls up to things like volume/bass/trebble where you connect up a volume knob to the field in the attributes box. That all works fine. Although it is painfully slow, do people really wait a couple of seconds after turning the knob? Seems like a sub optimal user experience to me.

The next thing I tried was turning the power on and off and doing a mute. I thought I might be do this the same way, connect to the field, add a mute/speaker icon and I'd be done. This doesn't work. I then guessed maybe I needed to put some code in the true/false action but I got to the point where I issued a driver command but it didn't give me list so I was stuck.

What do I do?

Thanks!
Reply
#2
For Driver docs, go to the main site, click support, and on the left you'll see "supported devices". Click that and you'll see what to do from there.

I don't think I understand the problem with the power on/off/mute - is a regular command button doing a FieldWrite not working?
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#3
IVB, thanks for the link. That should help.

So the case of just toggling power. I have a check box setup with two icons, one for power on, one for power off. I have the field set to C1Z1Power and I checked the 'direct writes' box. When I run this template if I click on the button it does not change state. If I double click it pops up a windows message box that says "Field C1Z1Power with an 'enable this field' check box that does change the state. Obviously this is not how it should work.

Do I need to write code in the Action window for OnTrueClick and OnFalseClick?

Chuck
Reply
#4
Thanks IVB, I got it going. I wrote code in the actions for true/false and it seems to be working great.

So thus far my only real comment is that it seems pretty slow from the time I click to the time I hear the volume change, or the power go off. I can just see my wife start in again like on the UPB delay....
Reply
#5
that seems pretty odd; with my NuVo, it's damn well near instantaneous. For volume, you could go with a slider instead of a vol up/down, you can set it up so that onDrag, it updates a static text field with the target volume, and only sets it onRelease. That'll be pretty fast, with immediate feedback too.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#6
hucker Wrote:Thanks IVB, I got it going. I wrote code in the actions for true/false and it seems to be working great.

So thus far my only real comment is that it seems pretty slow from the time I click to the time I hear the volume change, or the power go off. I can just see my wife start in again like on the UPB delay....
hucker, i have my cav6.6 tied into cqc. my family mostly accesses the cav via uno keypads and the response is rapid. no complaints in my house, yet. if you go to post #3 in this thread http://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forum/sho...php?t=7921 you can see my IV template, but they don't access music from here very often.

i also use upb/cqc/elk and time delay is not a complaint that i have heard from the family. my daughter wants to go back to the old "dumb" switches, but then again she is a teenager.
Reply
#7
I think the delay issue that I'm seeing is not a Russound driver issue but something CQC based. I see long delays doing lots of things, loading overlays into templates (no graphics) taking 3 seconds. Even when editing templates on my laptop remotely the IE UI is slow. Clicking a widget to display attributes takes 3 seconds before the attribute editor shows up.

I probably have something mis-configured...

Got most of the russound stuff figured out. This is pretty fun!

Chuck
Reply
#8
If you are seeing long delays, one possibility is that you are using your router for DHCP and Windows has therefore set up your DHCP settings so that you are using your ISP's domain suffix, so your computer reports your machine names as mymachine.mydomain.com, so every DNS lookup ends up going out to the net and failing.

Open the CQC Command Prompt and run CQCNetTest > NT.txt and post the results of that text file. That'll give a lot of info.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#9
You are right, I am using a domain login so that might be part of it. I am using a static IP though for my hardwired connection to the CQC server so I'm not sure what is up there. Here are the results...


CQC Network Info Test
Copyright © Charmed Quark Systems


System Information
--------------------------------
OS Version: 5.1.3, Build: 2600
Node Name: codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com
TCP Version: 2.2


Network Adaptor Information
--------------------------------
{63DA1733-1440-4355-B67A-D9D99E81897F}
Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
DHCP Enabled: False
Gateway/Mask: 192.168.1.1/0.0.0.0
Hardware Addr: 00 A0 D1 87 C8 21
Address/Mask #0: 192.168.1.4/255.255.255.0

{511CA2EE-E236-4386-A071-FC3CE322EA20}
Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport
DHCP Enabled: True
Gateway/Mask: 192.168.0.1/0.0.0.0
Hardware Addr: 00 16 44 69 77 D7
Address/Mask #0: 192.168.0.102/255.255.255.0


Environment Information
--------------------------------
CID_NSADDR: 192.168.1.10
CQC_DATADIR: C:\Program Files\CQC\CQCData


Name Resolution
--------------------------------
Trying to resolve name: codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com...
Resolved to: 192.168.1.4

Resolving back the other way...
Host Name: codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com


CQC Connection Tests
--------------------------------
Trying to connect to CQC name server...
Connected to name server successfully

Trying to connect to log server...
Connected to log server successfully

Trying to connect to Master Cfg Server...
Connected to Master Cfg Server successfully

Trying to connect to local Cfg Server...
Connected to local Cfg Server successfully

Trying to connect to installation server...
Connected installation interface successfully

Trying to connect to security server...
Connected security interface successfully

Trying to connect to macro server...
Connected macro interface successfully

Trying to connect to CQCServer on host Warthog
Connected CQCServer successfully


Server Statistics
--------------------------------

Stats For Process: Name Server
----------------------------
Object Id: Warthog.13502
Running On: Warthog
Up Since: Tue, May 05 16:02:28 2009 -0700
Client HWM: 11
Dropped Packets: 0
Cur Clients: 11
Max Clients: 92
Active Cmds: 1
Queued Cmds: 0
Registered Objs: 2
Worker Threads: 4
Targets: 0
Cmd Cache Sz: 0
Srv Cache Sz: 0
Wait List: 0


Stats For Process: Log Server
----------------------------
Object Id: Warthog.13503
Running On: Warthog
Up Since: Tue, May 05 16:02:30 2009 -0700
Client HWM: 8
Dropped Packets: 0
Cur Clients: 8
Max Clients: 92
Active Cmds: 1
Queued Cmds: 0
Registered Objs: 2
Worker Threads: 4
Targets: 0
Cmd Cache Sz: 1
Srv Cache Sz: 1
Wait List: 0


Stats For Process: Master Cfg Server
----------------------------
Object Id: .0
The program is not registered in the name server

Stats For Process: Data Server
----------------------------
Object Id: Warthog.13505
Running On: Warthog
Up Since: Tue, May 05 16:02:31 2009 -0700
Client HWM: 4
Dropped Packets: 0
Cur Clients: 2
Max Clients: 92
Active Cmds: 1
Queued Cmds: 0
Registered Objs: 6
Worker Threads: 4
Targets: 1
Cmd Cache Sz: 2
Srv Cache Sz: 1
Wait List: 0


Stats For Process: Local Cfg Server
----------------------------
Object Id: codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com.13504
Running On: codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com
Up Since: Tue, May 05 16:18:09 2009 -0700
Client HWM: 1
Dropped Packets: 0
Cur Clients: 1
Max Clients: 92
Active Cmds: 1
Queued Cmds: 0
Registered Objs: 2
Worker Threads: 4
Targets: 1
Cmd Cache Sz: 2
Srv Cache Sz: 1
Wait List: 0


Stats For Process: CQCServer on Warthog
----------------------------
Object Id: Warthog.13507
Running On: Warthog
Up Since: Tue, May 05 16:02:45 2009 -0700
Client HWM: 2
Dropped Packets: 0
Cur Clients: 2
Max Clients: 92
Active Cmds: 1
Queued Cmds: 0
Registered Objs: 2
Worker Threads: 4
Targets: 1
Cmd Cache Sz: 2
Srv Cache Sz: 2
Wait List: 0
Reply
#10
Look at the object ids for the various servers. The local machine host name is showing as codeiscool.hq.metronsys.com. Is that perhaps your ISP's domain? If you are in a domain, then all of them should be showing up as part of your local domain. Else none of them should have any domain name.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Trigger on Russound F1 button xlurkr 6 1,797 06-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Russound SMS3 Browser jmwhooper 0 1,858 03-26-2013, 05:55 AM
Last Post: jmwhooper
  Russound CAM-Tuner Template Sacedog 7 4,285 12-27-2012, 02:48 PM
Last Post: standon
  Help needed with Virtual Box IV Client Implementation ukbjorn2000 17 8,749 05-16-2011, 08:26 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  How to change radio station on Russound CAM Sacedog 12 5,890 12-14-2010, 03:28 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  CQC server crashed, new server needed, what OS? penngray 6 2,709 01-03-2010, 02:38 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Server not showing details in Admin - which service is needed znelbok 5 2,511 12-01-2009, 01:14 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Please help New Problem with my Russound phenix 2 1,937 09-24-2009, 09:49 AM
Last Post: gacevich
  Some major C-Bus help needed Roscoe62 2 1,650 08-16-2009, 11:13 AM
Last Post: Roscoe62
  Example Media Type Code Needed ASAP... AnthonyZ 8 3,191 07-17-2009, 12:53 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)