Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Using Domain - now computer won't connect
#1
OK, I've been trying to convert my network over to a domain and I am using Windows Server 2008 as my DNS server. I have the domain up and running and I can see all my computers on the domain.

But now I have a problem with my CQC setup. I am still running many of my device drivers off my old computer which is running XP Pro SP3, but my CQC Server is now on the Server 2008 machine. The old machine is connected to the domain and I can run the IV off this computer and everything looks great. So CQC is working just fine - on the right computer :-)

But if I try to load an IV on any another computer (like my thin client running XPe, or my laptop running Vista, or even the Windows 2008 machine), I get an error. The machines connect to the CQC server just fine, and it allows me to log in, but then I get this error.
Code:
The default template could not be opened. If you are a limited user, this means you cannot run this program and it will exit. Else, can just select a new template to view.
If I click the details screen, I get these details.
Code:
The server at {{1657103AEC7B0F90-32ED41A37653A3E1}1B5E042214521135-862CDF8ACD1C88AB,TCQCSrvAdminClientProxy,closetserver.mydomain.com.13507} was not available

I ran cqcnettest on the laptop and this is what I got.
Code:
C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>cqcnettest

CQC Network Info Test
Copyright (c) Charmed Quark Systems


System Information
--------------------------------
      OS Version: 6.0.1, Build: 6001
       Node Name: HP-Laptop
     TCP Version: 2.2


Network Adaptor Information
--------------------------------
  {BBF06D34-60D8-4E79-8E7F-6A9B14E56CB3}
  Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    DHCP Enabled: True
    Gateway/Mask: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.255
    Hardware Addr: 00 13 02 C1 12 C5
    Address/Mask #0: 192.168.1.6/255.255.255.0

  {E90655B6-F351-4355-B269-2A0D3B2824B5}
  Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    DHCP Enabled: True
    Gateway/Mask: 0.0.0.0/255.255.255.255
    Hardware Addr: 00 16 D4 3A 9C C2
    Address/Mask #0: 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0


Environment Information
--------------------------------
      CID_NSADDR: htpc
     CQC_DATADIR: C:\Program Files\CQC\CQCData


Name Resolution
--------------------------------
    Trying to resolve name: HP-Laptop...
    Resolved to: 192.168.1.6

    Resolving back the other way...
    Host Name: HP-Laptop


CQC Connection Tests
--------------------------------
    Trying to connect to CQC name server...
    Connected to name server successfully

    Trying to connect to log server...
    Connected to log server successfully

    Trying to connect to Master Cfg Server...
    Connected to Master Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to local Cfg Server...
    Connected to local Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to installation server...
    Connected installation interface successfully

    Trying to connect to security server...
    Connected security interface successfully

    Trying to connect to macro server...
    Connected macro interface successfully

    Trying to connect to CQCServer on host HP-KZQD2DZIWBE2.mydomain.com
Test failed! Error=
01/01 00:00:00-HP-Laptop, CQCNetTest, CQCNetTest
{
    CIDOrb, CIDOrb_ClientBase.cpp.402, API Failed/Not Found, Error: 1006/0/0
    The server at {{1657103AEC7B0F90-32ED41A37653A3E1}2EA5815AC947422A-169729DE6
0D9A9F1,TCQCSrvAdminClientProxy,HP-KZQD2DZIWBE2.mydomain.com.13507} was not available
}



C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>

It fails when it tries to connect to the thin client. It doesn't seem to even get to the old computer with the drivers on it.

I have to believe this is some sort of rights issue, but I cannot figure it out. There is no firewall on the thin client, and I have turned the firewall off on the old machine that has all the drivers on it. So I don't believe that is it.

So I would appreciate any help from you other guys who are running there systems on a domain. What can I do??

Computer names:
Domain=mydomain.com (not really, but this will help read the above code)
Thin Client name = HP-KZQD2DZIWBE2
Old Computer with drivers name = closetserver

Thanks,
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#2
There's some firewall issue on the laptop program. The servers running there can get out to register themselves, but no one can get to them. So everyone thinks they are there, since they have to be in order to be registered as available, but then they look like they aren't.

So turn off the firewall there, or maybe if you changed the configuration of that machine when you joined the domain, that might have scarfed the exceptions that the CQC installer created, so you may just need to run the installer again to reinstate them.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
I've run the installer on all the client computers again. Turned off the firewalls and still get the same error message.

I believe the ultimate problem lies with some sort of group policy or permission level on the XP clients now that they are a part of the server 2008 level domain. It seems that CQC cannot see the CQC parts running on either the XPe thin client or the XP Pro closetserver (which has the main drivers on it).

As a test, I'll see about taking the closetserver off the domain and seeing if the other CQC machines can start accessing it.

I happened to run the nettest on the laptop out of shear convinence. I did not install the CQC command line prompt on the thin client, and the closerserver is down in the wiring closet.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#4
I turned off the thin client and ran cqcnettest from both the main CQC server (located on the "homeserver" computer) as well as the XP Pro computer that has all the drivers installed on it (located on the "closetserver" computer.

Here is the results from the CQC server (Homeserver computer name).
Code:
C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>cqcnettest

CQC Network Info Test
Copyright (c) Charmed Quark Systems

System Information
--------------------------------
      OS Version: 6.0.1, Build: 6001
       Node Name: HomeServer.mydomain.com
     TCP Version: 2.2

Network Adaptor Information
--------------------------------
  {91F3898D-E64F-43B2-B0C2-809B51BA3594}
  Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) #2
    DHCP Enabled: False
    Gateway/Mask: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.255
    Hardware Addr: 00 1F D0 81 3D 54
    Address/Mask #0: 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

  {79996A6D-55D7-425B-A27E-01714D2B8375}
  Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    DHCP Enabled: False
    Gateway/Mask: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.255
    Hardware Addr: 00 1F D0 D8 54 2F
    Address/Mask #0: 192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0

Environment Information
--------------------------------
      CID_NSADDR: HomeServer.mydomain.com
     CQC_DATADIR: C:\Program Files\CQC\CQCData

Name Resolution
--------------------------------
    Trying to resolve name: HomeServer.mydomain.com...
    Resolved to: 192.168.1.2

    Resolving back the other way...
    Host Name: HomeServer.mydomain.com

CQC Connection Tests
--------------------------------
    Trying to connect to CQC name server...
    Connected to name server successfully

    Trying to connect to log server...
    Connected to log server successfully

    Trying to connect to Master Cfg Server...
    Connected to Master Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to local Cfg Server...
    Connected to local Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to installation server...
    Connected installation interface successfully

    Trying to connect to security server...
    Connected security interface successfully

    Trying to connect to macro server...
    Connected macro interface successfully

    Trying to connect to CQCServer on host HomeServer.mydomain.com
    Connected CQCServer successfully

    Trying to connect to CQCServer on host closetserver.mydomain.com
Test failed! Error=
01/01 00:00:00-HomeServer.mydomain.com, CQCNetTest, CQCNetTest
{
    CIDOrb, CIDOrb_ClientBase.cpp.402, API Failed/Not Found, Error: 1006/0/0
    The server at {{1657103AEC7B0F90-32ED41A37653A3E1}9782CBA2E1F86BB7-EC7DC0FAE
655E1EE,TCQCSrvAdminClientProxy,closetserver.mydomain.com.13507} was not availa
ble}

C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>

Here is the test results from the closetserver computer. There is no firewall currently running on the closetserver computer. I verified that before running these tests.

Code:
C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>cqcnettest

CQC Network Info Test
Copyright (c) Charmed Quark Systems

System Information
--------------------------------
      OS Version: 5.1.3, Build: 2600
       Node Name: closetserver.mydomain.com
     TCP Version: 2.2

Network Adaptor Information
--------------------------------
  {C459DE54-769B-4D88-9305-4FF5E614A988}
  Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    DHCP Enabled: True
    Gateway/Mask: 192.168.1.1/0.0.0.0
    Hardware Addr: 00 11 11 EA F0 CA
    Address/Mask #0: 192.168.1.20/255.255.255.0

Environment Information
--------------------------------
      CID_NSADDR: homeserver.mydomain.com
     CQC_DATADIR: C:\Program Files\CQC\CQCData

Name Resolution
--------------------------------
    Trying to resolve name: closetserver.mydomain.com...
    Resolved to: 192.168.1.20

    Resolving back the other way...
    Host Name: closetserver.mydomain.com

CQC Connection Tests
--------------------------------
    Trying to connect to CQC name server...
    Connected to name server successfully

    Trying to connect to log server...
    Connected to log server successfully

    Trying to connect to Master Cfg Server...
    Connected to Master Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to local Cfg Server...
    Connected to local Cfg Server successfully

    Trying to connect to installation server...
    Connected installation interface successfully

    Trying to connect to security server...
    Connected security interface successfully

    Trying to connect to macro server...
    Connected macro interface successfully

    Trying to connect to CQCServer on host HomeServer.mydomain.com
    Connected CQCServer successfully

    Trying to connect to CQCServer on host closetserver.mydomain.com
    Connected CQCServer successfully

Server Statistics
--------------------------------

    Stats For Process: Name Server
    ----------------------------
           Running On: HomeServer.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:40:15 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 16
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 14
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 1
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 2
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 0
         Cmd Cache Sz: 0
         Srv Cache Sz: 0
            Wait List: 0

    Stats For Process: Log Server
    ----------------------------
           Running On: HomeServer.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:40:15 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 11
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 10
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 3
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 2
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 0
         Cmd Cache Sz: 1
         Srv Cache Sz: 1
            Wait List: 0

    Stats For Process: Master Cfg Server
    ----------------------------
    The program is not registered in the name server

    Stats For Process: Data Server
    ----------------------------
           Running On: HomeServer.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:40:21 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 6
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 1
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 1
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 6
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 1
         Cmd Cache Sz: 2
         Srv Cache Sz: 1
            Wait List: 0

    Stats For Process: Local Cfg Server
    ----------------------------
           Running On: closetserver.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:53:41 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 1
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 1
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 1
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 2
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 1
         Cmd Cache Sz: 2
         Srv Cache Sz: 1
            Wait List: 0

    Stats For Process: CQCServer on HomeServer.mydomain.com
    ----------------------------
           Running On: HomeServer.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:40:23 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 1
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 1
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 1
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 2
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 1
         Cmd Cache Sz: 3
         Srv Cache Sz: 1
            Wait List: 0

    Stats For Process: CQCServer on closetserver.mydomain.com
    ----------------------------
           Running On: closetserver.mydomain.com
             Up Since: Sun, Mar 15 13:53:41 2009 -0400
           Client HWM: 2
      Dropped Packets: 0
          Cur Clients: 2
          Max Clients: 92
          Active Cmds: 1
          Queued Cmds: 0
      Registered Objs: 2
       Worker Threads: 4
              Targets: 1
         Cmd Cache Sz: 2
         Srv Cache Sz: 1
            Wait List: 0

C:\Program Files\CQC\Bin>
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#5
That would be indicative of either a firewall or if not that, that the address being registered by the closet PC for itself is not something that resolves correctly from the other machines, but does locally.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#6
Well I confirmed that if I remove the closet server from the domain, then the laptop and server can connect just fine (running Vista and WS2008). However, it does seem that the thin client still has trouble connecting. So I still think there is some problem with the XP machines that is directly related to how they are relating to the domain.

Hopefully there is a user out there familiar with Server 2008 and can confirm this and hopefully provide some sort of solution.

For the moment, I think I can get around this by using the kitchen thin client to remote into the closetserver. All I really need to get is the IV displayed properly on the kitchen touchscreen. That will at least get the WAF back to normal.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#7
Can you ping ClosetServer.mydomain.com from the other machines? The net test in the latest betas provides more info and might give some clues, but you'd need to upgrade to use it.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#8
First, just in case it isn't clear, I have put the closetserver back on the domain for the moment. So all my answers are based with that in mind.

Actually I cannot ping closetserver.mydomain.com. I get an error Ping request cannot find closetserver.mydomain.com. I can ping just closetserver just fine. But clearly that is a problem.

I also figured I would simply RDP into the machine as a quick work around. However, that doesn't work either as I get a "The CIDLib Configuration Server could not be contacted" error. The IV does come up after that, but any template that includes widgets that are found on the closetserver either won't load (and give an error) or they load with a bunch of missing widgets. I have other templates with only widgets that are found on the master CQC server (like the weather template) that still load up just fine.

I'm not sure if that helps clarify the problem, or just causes more confusion. But that is what is happening now ;-)
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#9
Quote:Actually I cannot ping closetserver.mydomain.com. I get an error Ping request cannot find closetserver.mydomain.com. I can ping just closetserver just fine. But clearly that is a problem.

That's why CQC is having the problem then. It's advertising itself as a host name that can't be found. It looks like it's not been correctly converted over to the domain scheme. If you look in the TCP/IP settings for it, it probably needs to have the 'append domain suffix' setting enabled.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#10
Windows 2008 domains are firewalled by default.

you have 2 options,

a) On every computer Disable the Firewall in fw.msc [stopping and disabling the service is not good practice as it breaks ip chains]

B) On you DC open the Group Policy editor, and make a new Domain wide policy, then in that policy disable all firewall services. - wait 15 -30 mins, for replications, and then try. any node not responding at this point, will need

gpupdate /force
and then reboot.

The polices you need are:

Branch: Computer Configuration/Administrative Templates/Network/Network Connections/Windows Firewall/Domain Profile
Policies
Windows Firewall: Allow ICMP exceptions - Enabled
Allow outbound destination unreachable - Enabled
Allow outbound source quench - Enabled
Allow redirect - Enabled
Allow inbound echo request - Enabled
Allow inbound router request - Enabled
Allow outbound time exceeded - Enabled
Allow outbound parameter problem - Enabled
Allow inbound timestamp request - Enabled
Allow inbound mask request - Enabled
Allow outbound packet too big - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow inbound file and printer sharing exception - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow inbound remote administration exception - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow inbound Remote Desktop exceptions - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow inbound UPnP framework exceptions - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow local port exceptions - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow local program exceptions - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Allow logging - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Do not allow exceptions - Disabled
Windows Firewall: Prohibit notifications - Enabled
Windows Firewall: Prohibit unicast response to multicast or broadcast requests - Disabled
Windows Firewall: Protect all network connections - Enabled


This is not for firewall, but will help with another feature of windows for file blocking.

Branch: User Configuration/Administrative Templateshide/Windows Components/Attachment Manager
Policies:
Do not preserve zone information in file attachments - Enabled
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Extron 200 and now Crosspoint 300 no connect AceCannon 1 1,790 07-14-2017, 10:49 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Unable to connect to VRC0P Deane Johnson 19 5,502 11-30-2014, 07:18 PM
Last Post: Deane Johnson
  Transferring CQC to new computer MikeA 9 3,554 04-15-2014, 04:45 PM
Last Post: MikeA
  One computer, two IVs? Micco 14 4,806 01-14-2010, 02:34 AM
Last Post: trouble
  Audio/Computer Problem - help diagnosing sic0048 4 2,514 01-12-2010, 10:55 AM
Last Post: beelzerob
  Elk Driver Waiting to Connect in 3.02 electriclight 8 3,327 07-23-2009, 08:59 AM
Last Post: electriclight
  Client Unable to Connect to the Master Server MavRic 9 3,519 06-13-2009, 03:41 PM
Last Post: MavRic
  Elk driver not connect Trioxide 4 2,520 06-13-2009, 10:06 AM
Last Post: Trioxide
  Serial connect Denon 3805 EST 15 6,786 04-29-2009, 05:33 AM
Last Post: wuench
  Unable to connect CQC to C-Bus trouble 9 3,390 01-02-2009, 01:30 PM
Last Post: znelbok

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)