Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Command to reboot another CQC client machine on the network?
#1
Is there a command I can set up which will allow me to reboot another CQC client PC on the network?
Reply
#2
There are several ways to do this. Probably the easiest would be to use PsShutdown from PsTools. You could also use the native windows shutdown command. You would use ExecApp (or StartRemoteApp) from an action to use either of the commands.
It's the early bird that catches the worm, but it's the second mouse that gets the cheese...
Reply
#3
I use the POP3 driver to do it remotely via email. I have it setup to restart CQC, reboot, shutdown, etc.

The POP3 driver has a command field. So if you send a properly formatted email, when it checks for emails it will change the command field. Then you can setup a triggered action on that field to do whatever you want via ExecApp etc.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply
#4
Very cool...Are there any reasonable security risks there? I'm guessing relatively low. It would take someone with a lot of time on their hands to figure out how to send you an email to turn off all the lights in your house or reboot your pc's.
It's the early bird that catches the worm, but it's the second mouse that gets the cheese...
Reply
#5
The driver allows you to set a cleartext password that must be included in the message or it is ignored. So as long as your emails aren't intercepted, it's reasonably secure.
Wuench
My Home Theater/Automation Website

[THREAD=5957]BlueGlass CQC Config[/THREAD]
[THREAD=10624]Wuench's CQC Drivers[/THREAD]
Reply
#6
jrlewis Wrote:There are several ways to do this. Probably the easiest would be to use PsShutdown from PsTools. You could also use the native windows shutdown command. You would use ExecApp (or StartRemoteApp) from an action to use either of the commands.

BTW....thank you VERY much for this. Just tried it out and it works beautifully with the StartRemoteApp command.

Cheers!! :-)
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Variable Action "Find" command or alternate Shaky 3 451 11-02-2021, 08:19 PM
Last Post: Shaky
  Camera Widget - URL, WebURL and Viewing While Not on Local network gReatAutomation 5 1,364 10-26-2020, 03:47 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Way back machine... royalj7 2 808 10-03-2020, 10:53 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  REpeating error after reboot znelbok 3 1,178 07-18-2020, 06:11 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Variables Driver Client gReatAutomation 4 1,611 04-25-2020, 12:46 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Troubleshooting Network Issue zra 7 2,038 04-18-2020, 03:32 AM
Last Post: zra
  Problem with Accesssing Variables Driver Client Interface kblagron 5 2,015 03-05-2020, 02:24 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  Full Restart without Reboot simplextech 5 1,565 01-24-2020, 02:38 PM
Last Post: simplextech
  Client side error dialog popping up xlurkr 3 1,639 01-04-2020, 04:01 PM
Last Post: xlurkr
  Generic-Network Monitor - Config File Error gReatAutomation 17 6,419 06-27-2019, 11:46 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)