Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Venstar Insteon Thermostat and Other Newbie Questions
I am new to CQC and testing different things on the trial version before biting the bullet for the license.

1. I recently installed a Venstar thermostat with insteon interface (http://www.smarthome.com/2491T1/Venstar-...le/p.aspx). From what I have seen so far, I can only do 0-100% for dimmers and on/off for non-dimming devices. Has anyone been able to set up the thermostat functionality using CQC? I tried this in MControl which supports it but I find CQC much more capable for other things so far.

2. I have a few Insteon devices and a PLC USB interface (now I hear PLM is the way to go). I was able to configure the driver in CQC and was partially successful in controlling some. The others I think have issues not related to CQC. So far I spent about $300-$400 on Insteon devices but then started reading all the horror stories about Insteon on various forums. I am now nervous about spending 2 or 3 more grand on this to cover the rest of my home. It appears to be the same case whether it is z-wave or UPB or Insteon. I can't seem to find a 'recent' comparison type review for these three options. I have read enough of arguments over which one is better so I don't want to start another thread for that. But could the experts here please validate my conclusion that none of these options are 100% robust and reliable and some things can be done to make any of them work may be 90% of the time (e.g. replace PLC with PLM)? I have read that Lutron RadioRA and Homeworks wireless are the only ones that are robust but they cost too much for my budget.

Sorry if the post is long. Being an industrial automation systems integrator and now just getting into HA, I am very pleased to see what CQC, Elk, etc. can do for home control. I have been spending many late nights on these toys now.
Ah, and now you have another option to consider Zigbee (Centralite JetStream).