Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Anyone make/sell templetes as cool as these that would work with CQC
#1
Anyone know of companies that sell icons/templates that would work well with CQC?

I saw this for crestron
http://www.guifx.com/store/products/1007

And it got me thinking...
Reply
#2
They'll do it for you Smile

I'd love to see something like the LCD Blue as a template. I like that idea.

Russ...
Reply
#3
Actually, looking at this reminded me of the big thing that AMX/Crestron are bringing to the table. A video object would be SOOOOO huge for CQC.

Russ...
Reply
#4
I have looked at these before and I dont think they are anything special - not for the money.

There are plenty of users here that have made better looking interfaces that are generally willing to share them with you.

As for creating custom buttons - do a search for button generator. Google will reveal quite a few available for free on the net. I have used them a few times to get something different in CQC.

Then there is the fonts, they also add something unique to your IV and you can find a lot of them for free on the net as well.

I am in the middle of an IV for work where I have used buttons from a generator, standard fonts and icon overlays on the buttons created from images from google search and resizing them. I think it looks pretty good for the stuff fro the net for free.

Never forget about the google images search - there is a lot there for harvesting.

What is the video object that you mention Russ.

Mick
Reply
#5
znelbok Wrote:What is the video object that you mention Russ.
Take a look at the Crestron templates. The Tungston has a black rectangle in the middle. This is to display video from a feed such as a previewing capability. I know I'd like to use it to select sources and to view what's on a particular device. It totally wowed me when I first saw a Crestron setup. It was new and wiz-bang for them at the time. You can't argue the fact that it just isn't a feature that is hard to be impressed from in a home system. I know the systems we have at work support it and it still makes me a bit envious. I've looked for web widgets to do it in CQC but I haven't found anything yet. I fear that the response of a web widget just won't get it done anyway.

Russ...
Reply
#6
I have to say that I agree that the graphics on those templates don't look too hard to recreate. I've been working with this awesome dude at http://www.getafreelancer.com his username there is ClaudiaMesquita (Full Name: Cláudia Reis Queirós de Mesquita). He is currently doing 3 more buttons for me. I had him create a custom background and 4 buttons with pressed and unpressed versions of each button for $65 and now he is creating 3 more buttons just like it for another $50. He is a really nice guy and has never gave me any trouble with revisions.

Here is a screenshot of what the original buttons and backgrouud looked like.
http://smarterior.com/forum_images/1024x...apshot.png

Here is another shot with the new buttons. These buttons are not finalized. I don't like the CD and the Remote Control so I am having him redo them.
http://smarterior.com/forum_images/Theat...enShot.png
David
Z-Wave World Magazine|Baltimore Hackerspace
"Why think outside the box when you could let the box think for you." - My take on Home Automation
Reply
#7
Check out the CoPilot software on the GUIFX site. It has some great functions like resizing icons and buttons, and creating custom backgrounds from pictures. It looks pretty cool. I'm always struggling to resize things to fit my needs and I think this software will make quick work of it.

Best part is that it is free for personal use.
Brian - a long time user that rarely messes with the system now
Other systems used:
SageTV w/ cablecard tuner & multiple extenders for viewing
BlueIris and IP cameras for CCTV
Incredible PBX for home phone
Reply
#8
Yeh, a lot of those wouldn't be too hard to do. It just requires sitting down and doing the actual graphical elements. I could do all of those 'easily' enough.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#9
zaccari Wrote:Take a look at the Crestron templates. The Tungston has a black rectangle in the middle. This is to display video from a feed such as a previewing capability. I know I'd like to use it to select sources and to view what's on a particular device. It totally wowed me when I first saw a Crestron setup. It was new and wiz-bang for them at the time. You can't argue the fact that it just isn't a feature that is hard to be impressed from in a home system. I know the systems we have at work support it and it still makes me a bit envious. I've looked for web widgets to do it in CQC but I haven't found anything yet. I fear that the response of a web widget just won't get it done anyway.

Russ...
Russ,
We have several pro installations that bring security camera, video conference, and other feeds onto a CQC template using the html widget. They have a simple ntsc video server (like one from BlueNote, or Axis, etc. just google 'ntsc video server') that converts either composite or s-video to perfectly acceptable html previews (they typically use an ActiveX control in the browser). If you look at the CQC thread on Integration Pros there is a screenshot of a 3x3 'hollywood squares' preview.
Mark Stega
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Leviton VRUSB owners: Does it work? IVB 30 10,826 07-13-2015, 09:25 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Sell me on All Components xlurkr 8 2,938 02-14-2014, 06:15 PM
Last Post: xlurkr
  Does this protocol make sense to you? IVB 8 3,388 10-08-2013, 09:23 AM
Last Post: IVB
  Sony DVP-CX777ES doesn't work Andre 10 5,162 02-05-2012, 01:30 PM
Last Post: Andre
  Just installed 4.0 now SNMP doesn't work? SamVimes2 9 4,370 09-07-2011, 09:40 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Will CQC work for me? programmergeek 7 3,157 06-17-2010, 03:33 PM
Last Post: LesAuber
  Will this work as server? optix 3 2,352 12-03-2009, 06:43 AM
Last Post: sic0048
  My experience with Z-Wave through elk OR how do i make groups or change the names? SamVimes2 6 2,740 07-08-2009, 07:14 AM
Last Post: SamVimes2
  j river media center 13 work with cqc? pjwinstalls 0 1,317 06-22-2009, 04:55 PM
Last Post: pjwinstalls
  What UPB switches work best with CQC/ELK flik 4 2,142 03-17-2009, 09:59 AM
Last Post: robolo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)