Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Samsung HLxxA750 DLP Beta Driver
#11
Dean Roddey Wrote:You indicate in the manifest that the comm configuration is editable, then they have an Edit button when installing the driver where they can adjust the settings as desired.

I have <CQCCfg:ConnCfg CQCCfg:Editable="True">, and when installing the driver in the Admin Interface, it shows a settings button. When the settings button is invoked, it allows them to edit the baud rate and other settings. Is that what you meant?
Reply
#12
I had a chance to test out the fields. Here is what is working with my TV and what is not working:

Working: DirectVolume, Input, Mute, PictureMode, Power

Not Working: AdjustVolume, ChangeChannel, Directchannel

It looks like the older protocol did not allow for those three items.

How odd, to not allow a channel change in a TV command protocol. Anyway, I use DirecTV so that is not a big one for me.

One thing that would be nice to have is the PIP commands. Not sure if your TV has it, but mine does.

Thanks for the work on it!
Reply
#13
jrunde Wrote:I have <CQCCfg:ConnCfg CQCCfg:Editable="True">, and when installing the driver in the Admin Interface, it shows a settings button. When the settings button is invoked, it allows them to edit the baud rate and other settings. Is that what you meant?

Yeh........
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#14
lpott6 - I have the protocol document for the 305HLR5078, which I assume would be the same as your TV. It states that you need to go to the setup menu and select Setup-> Port Selection -> RS232C in order for your port to work since Anynet, G-link, and RS-232C share the same port. Once you get that done, set your comm port for 19,200 bps, 8 bits, no parity, 1 stop bit, and no flow control, and you should have the same functionality as I do (See previous post). I am assuming you need the crossover cable as well.
Reply
#15
kblagron Wrote:I had a chance to test out the fields. Here is what is working with my TV and what is not working:

Working: DirectVolume, Input, Mute, PictureMode, Power

Not Working: AdjustVolume, ChangeChannel, Directchannel

It looks like the older protocol did not allow for those three items.

How odd, to not allow a channel change in a TV command protocol. Anyway, I use DirecTV so that is not a big one for me.

One thing that would be nice to have is the PIP commands. Not sure if your TV has it, but mine does.

Thanks for the work on it!

I don't see the AdjustVolume, ChangeChannel, or Direct channel in the protocol document I have for the for the 2005 models. It is listed for the 2008 models.

I should be able to add the PIP commands to it as it is in the protocol document of the 2005 modles, though the one I have does not support PIP so you will be the one testing it.
Reply
#16
kblagron Wrote:lpott6 - I have the protocol document for the 305HLR5078, which I assume would be the same as your TV. It states that you need to go to the setup menu and select Setup-> Port Selection -> RS232C in order for your port to work since Anynet, G-link, and RS-232C share the same port. Once you get that done, set your comm port for 19,200 bps, 8 bits, no parity, 1 stop bit, and no flow control, and you should have the same functionality as I do (See previous post). I am assuming you need the crossover cable as well.
This is good news, I did not see that in my manual. I am at work right now, but I will check it out tonight. If this works it would improve reliability over the IR I am using now.

I finally got a new Denon 2809CI receiver so all video is going into it with only one connection to the TV. This eliminated the need to change the source.

Thanks for the new info.
Larry in Denver
Reply
#17
I just checked and it appears that I am out of luck. The only options on the port selection menu are G-Link and Anynet, no RS-232.

I'll make sure my next TV has RS-232 control.

Thanks anyway.
Larry in Denver
Reply
#18
I think that I read somewhere, probably here, that there is a firmware update that could enable rs232. Might be worth looking into.
-Mike
Reply
#19
potts.mike Wrote:I think that I read somewhere, probably here, that there is a firmware update that could enable rs232. Might be worth looking into.
-Mike
I don't remember seeing that. I would be interested in an upgrade if one was available. I will check the Samsung site.

If anyone here knows of an upgrade, please post a link. Thanks
Larry in Denver
Reply
#20
The other thing that may be worth checking, is to see if it can be enabled from the service menu.

On my 2007 model, you do the following:

"Entering the Service Menu
With the TV off, press Mute-1-8-2-Power in sequence. The set now
turns on in Service menu mode. You can use the remote to navigate
through the menu."

My RS-232 port can be switched to service port / RS-232 by entering that menu.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Sage Media Server driver (beta) Fonceur 698 257,405 07-26-2020, 04:59 PM
Last Post: sic0048
  RainMachine Sprinkler Irrigation Controller Driver kblagron 50 3,990 06-01-2020, 01:18 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Russound MCA-66 on TCP driver lapointe.sc@gmail.com 5 400 05-24-2020, 06:23 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Samsung SmartTV Driver George M 0 138 05-20-2020, 09:04 AM
Last Post: George M
  OpenWeatherMap Weather Driver Using OneCall API kblagron 11 678 05-18-2020, 04:09 AM
Last Post: dlmorgan999
  Tesla Driver Driver kfly 10 1,165 05-08-2020, 08:49 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  JVC D-ILA Driver jokermac 34 5,282 04-13-2020, 01:28 AM
Last Post: Mark Stega
  LIFX Driver bobskie708 15 6,390 01-05-2020, 11:00 AM
Last Post: simplextech
  Universal Devices ISY Insteon Driver wuench 369 177,000 12-28-2019, 05:15 PM
Last Post: simplextech
  RunTimer2 driver rbroders 18 8,100 10-17-2019, 04:38 PM
Last Post: rbroders

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)