Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ACT or Leviton Zwave Switches - Which One?
#11
The RZCZ1 is a controller, not part of a hardwired 3+way switch circuit, but can be used to create virtual 3+way circuits. You can use the VZ00R-10 with the RZI06, etc., scene capable dimmers to create standard hardwired 3+way circuits. The benefit is that the VZs are much cheaper; the downside is you don't get the LEDs on the VZs (you can't use the VZ00R-1 for example).



Jim,
Thanks for the info. Can you clarify one thing though. Why cannot I use the VZ00R-1? Isn't it the same as the VZ00R - 10 except it has the LED?

Thanks
George
Reply
#12
George M Wrote:The RZCZ1 is a controller, not part of a hardwired 3+way switch circuit, but can be used to create virtual 3+way circuits. You can use the VZ00R-10 with the RZI06, etc., scene capable dimmers to create standard hardwired 3+way circuits. The benefit is that the VZs are much cheaper; the downside is you don't get the LEDs on the VZs (you can't use the VZ00R-1 for example).

Jim,
Thanks for the info. Can you clarify one thing though. Why cannot I use the VZ00R-1? Isn't it the same as the VZ00R - 10 except it has the LED?

Thanks
George
Apparently there is some technical reason they don't allow the LED levels to communicate between the RZ and the VZ devices. I tried a VZ00R-1 that my electrician had installed with the RZ dimmer, and sure enough, it didn't work, at all. Might be worth a call to Leviton customer support however. They are very helpful once you wait out the wait to get to them. Maybe there is a solution on the horizon, but they've said in the past to use the RZCZ1 controller for a virtual 3-way solution if you must have the LEDs. I couldn't justify either the cost or not having a hardwired backbone. The VZ00R-10 does allow dimming from the remote switch, just no LED level display.

I do like the ViziaRF line in that you can use RF devices where you really want them and non-RF vizia devices elsewhere throughout the house and your switches look the same. You don't have to have every switch be Z-wave to accomplish this.
Jim
Reply
#13
Squintz and I were talking about the Leviton switches. I think I'm going to try a test in a section of my house to see how they work. My non-controlled switches are Leviton and I like the look and feel.

Russ...
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Leviton Vizia Software / Deleting/Removing Stale Device gReatAutomation 2 4,075 08-01-2019, 02:01 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  ISY-994i / ZWave / Smartthings kblagron 1 3,599 08-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  ZWAVE Hack batwater 2 2,748 05-24-2018, 04:56 PM
Last Post: batwater
  Zwave MQTT bridge potts.mike 4 4,683 01-24-2018, 01:28 PM
Last Post: batwater
  HA switches / sensors dasler 14 9,160 05-21-2017, 09:45 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  New Leviton WiFi dimmers?? Deane Johnson 1 2,572 04-12-2017, 09:05 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Managed L3 Switches - Ubiquiti batwater 2 2,366 11-08-2016, 06:10 AM
Last Post: batwater
  Leviton Vizia RF software support for Win10 is available apparently Dean Roddey 5 3,903 06-15-2016, 07:11 AM
Last Post: Deane Johnson
  GoControl Essentials ZWave Sensor Kit - Clearance at HomeDepot jkmonroe 0 1,951 05-17-2016, 08:09 PM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Smartthings as primary zwave controller? IVB 101 28,972 01-02-2016, 03:05 PM
Last Post: jkmonroe

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)