Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Klipsch Synergy Series on sale at Woot
Two surrounds for $95
http://www.woot.com/

and the center for $85
http://shopping.yahoo.com/?name=woot#woot
I don't think you will find the SB1's to go with them.

Brian
I take it there's something specific about these speakers that make them surround, as opposed to front L/R?

I'm woefully ignorant of speaker technology, which sucks because I'm going to need some new ones soon...most likely wall flush-mounted, which these aren't, right?

If my receiver is a 700 w (100w X 7 channels), then I should make sure I get a 100w speaker, right? Even if I never intend to drive my speakers at 100w?
I'm no speaker expert, but if you checkout the Klipsch site you can see the left/right speakers that went with that set.

Woot is offering only the center and two speakers that would be mounted on the wall beside your listening area as those are a dipole setup that are firing forward and backwards to better disperse the surround.

You would want speakers capable of handing the power of the amplifier/receiver, but the spec'd output numbers on amplifiers can be a little overrated.

Brian
Quote:You would want speakers capable of handing the power of the amplifier/receiver, but the spec'd output numbers on amplifiers can be a little overrated.
I am no expert, but I would strongly have to disagree on both points here...
a) you just want speakers that will handle a bit more power then you are likely to ever use... but consider this, you are not likely to ever need more then 20-30 watts continuous unless you are really into ear shattering heavy metal... etc..