Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Touch Screen Sharing Device
#1
I stumbled accross this device in an email I was sent

http://www.42u.com/nti-touch-screen-splitter.htm

It allows 4 touch screens to be driven by 1 PC and appears to solve the mouse control issue.

I have no idea how well it works, but I know some people were looking for such a device.

Cheers

Rohan
HAMFIELD
Software & Hardware Solutions
Makers of the Translink C-Bus Gateway
for the Apple iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch.
Reply
#2
I'm doing this fine. Will it works fine now. I got an 8 VGA splitter/booster and got 25,50 and 100' VGA cables all on EBay. The longest run 100'. I then hooked 8" touchscreen monitors to them. I was getting a ghost image on any runs over 25'. So near the monitors I put a two way splitter/booster just to boost the VGA. Now it works fine. For the touch screens they are USB. So I got the cat5 USB extenders and that works fine. I have two touchscreens working on the same software/driver. On some of the USB ports the touchscreen worked backwards. I just keeped changing then around until it worked. Don't ask how it work, it just did.:-) The one thing I don't like is all screens are the same. I am now looking at putting tablets a round the house instead.

VGA cables $25-$75 depending on the run.
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-100-SVGA-SUPER-V...dZViewItem
Splitter/Booster $5-$15
http://cgi.ebay.com/8-Port-VGA-SVGA-Moni...dZViewItem
8" monitors at the time about $200-$250 now I see them for about $150
http://cgi.ebay.com/VM84-8-4-8-TFT-LCD-t...dZViewItem
USB cat5 extender $75-+
http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-SUPER-BOOSTER-15...dZViewItem

All on EBay
Reply
#3
If you have to have the same image on all the screens then that is a big downside.

As to the mouse control issue - most drivers now support multiple touchscreens, so it is a non issue with these drivers.

For the prices listed above the betwin software is much cheaper at $100US and you can have 5 different screens running independantly of each other.

The other hardware (extenders etc) may still be needed as this is hardware problems/limitations.

Stinggray - give the software a run on the free trial before you buy the tablets - it may work well for you

Mick
Reply
#4
Can I use a dual or quad card? Or will have to use a single card for each one?
Reply
#5
They claim on the website FAQ that you can use a dual or quad head card. There is a hit on performance for games and such, but that is not what we are doing with it so I dont see any problem with it at all
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Simple HTTP Call to Device from CQC mjwhite214 19 7,143 01-23-2020, 03:35 PM
Last Post: simplextech
  Device varible in email greyjeep 3 2,290 01-09-2018, 05:21 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Harmony Hub Device Control jkmonroe 6 4,879 07-03-2016, 02:36 PM
Last Post: potts.mike
  zwave device configuration jkmonroe 75 27,009 12-31-2015, 05:21 PM
Last Post: Deane Johnson
  Eventghost able to Ping device out of network EST 10 5,651 09-24-2015, 05:18 PM
Last Post: EST
  Sizing templates on PC screen Deane Johnson 5 3,238 06-12-2015, 09:02 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  user screen resolution ellisr63 4 2,711 11-30-2014, 03:05 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Windows 8 Tablet Screen Control rsw686 7 5,183 09-22-2014, 04:13 PM
Last Post: ellisr63
  Android based device Voice control of CQC How To Discussion Thread batwater 5 4,644 12-07-2013, 10:01 PM
Last Post: RichardU
  2nd Google Hangout - Screen shots & basic how to - Discuss here! batwater 8 4,903 08-31-2013, 11:26 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)