Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
A little last minute advice
#1
Meeting with my installer to go over my wiring needs for my new house first thing tomorrow morning. Originally, I was going to just wire Cat5e and use Rad I/O's throughout the house along with a few Samsung Q1'a. Now that I have done so much work on my interfaces (800x480) I kind of want to mount some nicer touch screens to get full functionality and to show off my work.

What screens should I consider, and more importantly, what should I prewire to those locations where I will install the touchpanels?

Thanks,
Reply
#2
18/2 and 2 CAT5e would cover it.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#3
Do I need to install any type of gangbox, or do you just directly wire the 18/2 to the panel?
Reply
#4
I just ran it directly to the panel. I'm a serious hack-job'er, so i might be the wrong guy to ask.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#5
Are you running power over that 18/2?

Would that pass code for you? I am pretty sure you can't have low voltage in the same box with A/C current. I am no electrician, but it doesn't seem to me like a good idea. I would have your electrician run outlet boxes into all of the recesses and you can plug your screen into those...
Reply
#6
Like IVB, I like the Fujitsu 3400's. great price, decent screen.
Reply
#7
rm1759 Wrote:Are you running power over that 18/2?

Would that pass code for you? I am pretty sure you can't have low voltage in the same box with A/C current. I am no electrician, but it doesn't seem to me like a good idea. I would have your electrician run outlet boxes into all of the recesses and you can plug your screen into those...
??
I don't have LV and HV in the box, def against the NEC. The 18/2 has the transformer on the other side, so it's only something like 12-20V running through it.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#8
Quote:Like IVB, I like the Fujitsu 3400's. great price, decent screen.

You can have mine, its collecting dust Big Grin

I prefer the more modern, crisp, clear look of the Viewsonic touchscreens. I actually is a 15" right now as my CQC server monitor.

They are RDP but with XPunlimited (3 users simultaneously) and a very cheap XP Pro machine it works great and I actually use that XP Pro machine all day for work so horse power isnt required.
Reply
#9
Ok, I am running 2 cat5's and a 16/2 for power. The installer seemed to think the 16/2 would be fine as opposed to an 18/2. That's not going to carry too much current or anything will it? I am letting him worry about code, I'll make sure to check it while they are doing the work just to see what's going on.

Out of curiosity, where does everyone terminate the other end of the low voltage wire?
Reply
#10
If 18/2 would work, 16/2 is better. The difference is cost shouldn't be too big of a deal.
Keith
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Double Upgrade Advice? ControlFreak 1 1,890 06-26-2016, 10:12 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Master Server rehost/upgrade advice. dogman 3 2,490 03-24-2012, 04:35 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Newbie Configuration Advice Rui.Bastos 10 6,668 09-06-2010, 04:31 AM
Last Post: batwater
  New CQC install and I need some advice avtexan 6 3,503 07-22-2010, 08:54 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Complete Newbie, really needs some advice ACZ 17 5,306 07-03-2010, 12:35 PM
Last Post: radiopaque
  Seeking Advice On WHS vs. Win2K3 zpollock 37 9,901 03-12-2010, 10:56 AM
Last Post: rm1759
  Looking for setup advice for better audio control dman000000 5 2,882 11-30-2009, 08:22 AM
Last Post: standon
  Rebuilding Master Server, need advice... jchurley 6 2,011 07-05-2009, 08:05 AM
Last Post: zaccari
  Incorporating SageTV into my system - advice SamVimes2 23 7,987 03-14-2009, 08:28 AM
Last Post: potts.mike
  Advice on Connection Hardware Sheggsl 11 3,450 10-05-2008, 03:48 PM
Last Post: NishanF

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)