Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
System monitoring?
#1
Is there any way to monitor system status and then either restart a plugin, or reboot a machine?

In my example, I have a thermostat plugin that communicates with two thermostats (Upstairs and Main) via serial port.  Occasionally, I'll notice that one of my temp up or temp down events fails to operate.  If I look at my system, most of the times one of the thermostats is not populated under the driver interface.  Actually, the fields for that thermostat are not visible.

I can pause & then resume the driver & it restores the thermostat...the events will now proceed as normal.  

1. I am surprised that the plugin doesn't always show two thermostats since it was configured to have two.  Is this something that can be written into the driver?
2. I would like to be able to monitor the thermostat fields & if one of them becomes invalid for an extended time....do a pause/resume of the driver, or reboot the system.



Any thoughts on where I could start looking?
Reply
#2
(03-13-2023, 07:12 AM)Spot Wrote: Is there any way to monitor system status and then either restart a plugin, or reboot a machine?

In my example, I have a thermostat plugin that communicates with two thermostats (Upstairs and Main) via serial port.  Occasionally, I'll notice that one of my temp up or temp down events fails to operate.  If I look at my system, most of the times one of the thermostats is not populated under the driver interface.  Actually, the fields for that thermostat are not visible.

I can pause & then resume the driver & it restores the thermostat...the events will now proceed as normal.  

1. I am surprised that the plugin doesn't always show two thermostats since it was configured to have two.  Is this something that can be written into the driver?
2. I would like to be able to monitor the thermostat fields & if one of them becomes invalid for an extended time....do a pause/resume of the driver, or reboot the system.



Any thoughts on where I could start looking?
What thermostat?  I have that issue with the RCS and have been contemplating modifying the driver so it always uses the two zones.  Usually I just reset the App shell and it clears up, but it has trouble on a total reboot.

I am pretty sure you can easily send an email or text if your driver isn't ready, and probably combine that with the timer driver to add logic to only alert you after a specified time.  I am not sure on the pause/resume or reboot of the driver.
Reply
#3
It is the RCS Serial Driver ...

Normally, it works perfectly.  It seems odd that it "drops" a thermostat.  I can see that the serial communication is still occurring for the "missing" stat, but it just doesn't show in the Admin Interface & events related to that thermostat do not work.

I've tried different serial interfaces and I still have the same issue.
Reply
#4
My RCS uses the RS-485 protocol. I figured that it polls what the unit is, and moves on from there. If you want a specialized driver, I can probably help you. Tell me what the model is you select on the configuration tab, and I can adjust it to what you want.

I am using the RCS driver written by Kirk Kanak V 2.1.

i.e. for me - I have one unit that is ZCVx and it is one zone, the other one I have is also ZCVx and it is two zone.

Sometimes on a reset, the two zone shows up as a one zone.
Reply
#5
(03-17-2023, 12:41 AM)kblagron Wrote: My RCS uses the RS-485 protocol.  I figured that it polls what the unit is, and moves on from there.  If you want a specialized driver, I can probably help you.  Tell me what the model is you select on the configuration tab, and I can adjust it to what you want.

I am using the RCS driver written by Kirk Kanak V 2.1.

i.e. for me - I have one unit that is ZCVx and it is one zone, the other one I have is also ZCVx and it is two zone.

Sometimes on a reset, the two zone shows up as a one zone.
I'm using TRS16 thermostats connected on an RS-485 network.  They are the only devices on the network & the Comms look good. 

Previously, I had experimented with different protocol adapters, but when I monitor the serial port, the communication seems fine.  I do notice some drop-offs of the comm port, but it really seems that when it re-establishes contact, it doesn't handle the communications correctly.  

I've done some troubleshooting of the driver and did find an earlier oversight in the code that wouldn't allow multiple thermostats to operate correctly.  I was debating storing the config somewhere ....

I'll take another look at the code when I get a chance to relook at how the code parses the reply from the thermostats.  From what I recall, both thermostats were sending status updates, but in some cases only one showed up in the interface.  I suspect that after it re-establishes the connection, it ignores tStats that were not present in the initial polling.
Reply
#6
I had both of mine on the same RS-485 line, and it caused a lot of problems, spent another $25 for an additional adapter and all of my issues went away.  More recently, one of them has the issue with not getting initialized properly - 2 zones .vs. 1 zone.  Please let us know what changes you make as it may help to make mine work better at startup.
Reply
#7
(03-18-2023, 11:10 PM)kblagron Wrote: I had both of mine on the same RS-485 line, and it caused a lot of problems, spent another $25 for an additional adapter and all of my issues went away.  More recently, one of them has the issue with not getting initialized properly - 2 zones .vs. 1 zone.  Please let us know what changes you make as it may help to make mine work better at startup.

I've seen a few instances (again) where this is an issue & think I have figured out where I ned to look in the code.  Essentially, it reconfigures and doesn't see a reply from a thermostat & then drops it from the polling list...even though it was configured.

I am new to CQC and trying to figure out how the configuration is stored/ accessed....and the best strategy in case there really is a new device....


Sorry it's a slow slog, but since it kinda works...my wife has other priorities for me...
Reply
#8
(04-26-2023, 04:57 PM)Spot Wrote: I've seen a few instances (again) where this is an issue & think I have figured out where I ned to look in the code.  Essentially, it reconfigures and doesn't see a reply from a thermostat & then drops it from the polling list...even though it was configured. I am new to CQC and trying to figure out how the configuration is stored/ accessed....and the best strategy in case there really is a new device....


Sorry it's a slow slog, but since it kinda works...my wife has other priorities for me...

Well if you have an extra serial port and can run another line, it will eliminate all of the issues, well except maybe the one I have. 

I never dug too deep into the driver to know how it works, but have been thinking about building two drivers - one that only configures a ZCVx one zone system, and one that only configures a ZCVx two zone system.  That would eliminate any issues I have with the driver.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Am I misusing System Equals? Spot 6 1,082 01-30-2022, 07:35 PM
Last Post: Spot
  Unhandled system exception in the GUI Thread gReatAutomation 9 2,756 03-23-2020, 01:03 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Unhandled system exception in GUI Thread Shaky 75 23,810 06-21-2019, 08:10 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  DIY Security System Integration cavalier240 10 5,888 01-10-2019, 09:05 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Does the auto-gen template system support Roku? ghurty 3 2,718 12-31-2018, 06:14 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Aeotec not starting fast enough on system reboot IVB 3 2,202 12-15-2018, 04:57 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  GetCurMillis immune to system time change? rbroders 6 3,006 12-09-2018, 02:58 PM
Last Post: rbroders
  System.Runtime.FileSystem documentation missing? rbroders 1 1,734 11-25-2018, 07:44 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  System Config tom 13 5,332 11-04-2018, 06:45 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  If starting fresh, what is the best garage door system to go with to work with CQC? ghurty 1 1,918 08-30-2018, 03:23 PM
Last Post: znelbok

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)