Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Error writing value to field
This is my first trigger attempting to set a value of a field to a value from another field & I get the error "Cannot convert the passed value to a form legal for field <target field>."

I am attempting to take the value from OpenWeather ( WEATH#curTemp [Type: MEng.Int4]) and write it to the outside temp of my RCS serial thermostats (Main_OutsideTempStat [type: MEng.INT4]).

I am able to type a value in the driver directly & have it write to the thermostat correctly, but I cannot get the action of the trigger to work.  I'm really new to CQC, but is there some form of typecasting that I need to do?

Thanks
(05-26-2021, 05:04 PM)Spot Wrote: This is my first trigger attempting to set a value of a field to a value from another field & I get the error "Cannot convert the passed value to a form legal for field <target field>."

I am attempting to take the value from OpenWeather ( WEATH#curTemp [Type: MEng.Int4]) and write it to the outside temp of my RCS serial thermostats (Main_OutsideTempStat [type: MEng.INT4]).

I am able to type a value in the driver directly & have it write to the thermostat correctly, but I cannot get the action of the trigger to work.  I'm really new to CQC, but is there some form of typecasting that I need to do?

Thanks
What is the trigger?  Is it any field change for a value from WEATH#curTemp?

Can you provide the actual FieldWrite command you have in the trigger?  Just want to make sure you are taking the value from the curTemp and not the text of the name.  For example, you should be passing the value from the openweather field to the RCS, and it requires the $() to pass a value.

Devices::FieldWrite
    P1= Thermo.OutsideTempStat
    P2=$(OpenWeather.WEATH#curTemp)
    P3=False
(05-26-2021, 11:15 PM)kblagron Wrote: