Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
System::Pause
#1
Trying to figure out if, when using System Pause, if this in fact pauses your entire system during the pause period or, if it just pauses the action in which it was called.

I have many Global Actions, including my remote control stuff. In one of my global actions, I was testing on screen display changes. I added a pause of a few seconds to one of them but during this time, none of the other global actions (ie, remote control Cursor Up for example) would not do anything. after the pause period, the global action I executed during the pause period (remote control Cursor Up) executed.

Same questions for the System WaitTimer.

Example 1
Call global action
System PAUSE (are all other global actions paused during this time?)
Call another global action

Example 2
Call global action
System WAIT (are all other global actions paused during this time?)
Call another global action
Reply
#2
It only pauses the action that calls it. As a rule it's something avoid unless you really need it.

The timers are useful because you can do other things, then call WaitTimer(). If the time period is already expired, it'll return immediately, else it'll wait for whatever time remains. So you can start a timer, do other things potentially, then wait, then do whatever it is that required that you wait for a while. Again, this is only the action that calls it.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  GE Heavy Duty 40 Amp Outdoor Switch (14285) / Misting System gReatAutomation 0 1,268 06-11-2019, 04:44 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Adding custom tiles/overlays to the auto-gen system Dean Roddey 1 2,171 07-20-2018, 08:14 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  System Config tom 35 16,357 01-12-2018, 09:02 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  New HVAC System - Nest? dgage 5 4,978 05-24-2017, 11:15 AM
Last Post: dgage
  Keep system from sleeping George M 8 7,498 01-20-2017, 06:37 PM
Last Post: wuench
  Porting Auto-Gen Music Templates to Existing System TurboSam 4 3,965 08-31-2016, 01:08 PM
Last Post: TurboSam
  Need help to get a working system on CQC ellisr63 26 13,470 10-19-2015, 05:05 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Kiosk Error: "No CQC System ID was set" TurboSam 3 3,472 07-26-2015, 01:16 PM
Last Post: TurboSam
  How to put a pause in an Action list? Deane Johnson 10 5,337 11-30-2014, 11:22 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  System crashed, unable to get it going again. Deane Johnson 43 15,862 11-11-2014, 04:50 AM
Last Post: Mark Stega

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)