Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ZWave & Switch Remotes / Dimmer Remotes
#1
Big Grin 
Not sure if this is an issue with the CQC ZWave driver or ZWave in general. CQC ZWave driver does not update when turning on or off a light from a switch or dimmer remote, however, the switch master or dimmer master respond and "know" when the load was turned on or off if it was done from a remote.

If folks are going to response, I'd ask that you please read what I've written here Big Grin

Location 1: ZWave Master switch for patio (Leviton DZ15S-1BZ) - Unit_13 in CQC ZWave Driver Client
Location 2: ZWave remote switch for patio (Leviton DD0SR-DLZ) - not listed in CQC ZWave Driver Client
Location 3: ZWave remote switch for patio (Leviton DD0SR-DLZ) - not listed in CQC ZWave Driver Client
Location 4: ZWave remote switch for patio (Leviton DD0SR-DLZ) - not listed in CQC ZWave Driver Client

If I turn the light on or off from Location 1, the CQC driver notes the change for Unit_13 and the indicator LED's on DZ15S-1BZ and DD0SR-DLZ show the light is either on or off via the indicator LED (green == off and no LED == on).

If I turn the light on or off from Locations 2 - 4, the CQC driver does not note the change for Unit_13 but the indicator LED's on DZ15S-1BZ and DD0SR-DLZ show the light is either on or off via the indicator LED (green == off and no LED == on).
Reply
#2
That would mean that either the master switch is not sending out a notification when it's updated by one of the remote switches, or it's sending something different from what it does when you do it locally. I checked and there are no configuration options for that guy other than something to do with the LED. There's nothing to control reports of changes via remote switches.

It sends notification class msgs for asyncs. We could see if it is sending something different in the two scenarios if you want to do it.

1. In the Z-Wave client interface, one of the main menu options is to enable msg tracing. Turn that on.
2. Pretty quickly then go flip the light off or on via the main switch, then do the other direction via the remote switch
3. Go back and turn off tracing.
4. Go to the [cqc]\CQCData\Server\Data\ZWaveUSB directory and there should be a Trace.txt file there.

Post the output of that. It should capture anything sent by the unit when you do those two operations.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
Thanks. I turned LGHT#Sw_Unit_1 on and off twice from the master and then on and off three times from one of the slaves.
Reply
#4
The only thing in there is the stuff from the master. So there'd be no way for CQC to know that it had changed state. I'm not sure how they expect that to be useful in an automation system context. That's a real lacking on the part of the master switch to to make such reports.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#5
Thanks. Decision to move to RadioRA2 solidified and I've ordered my first set of stuff from eBay.
Reply
#6
Some units do report changes made via Z-Wave itself. Sometimes it's a configuration option that you have to enable. But not in this care apparently.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#7
(01-15-2020, 03:51 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: Some units do report changes made via Z-Wave itself. Sometimes it's a configuration option that you have to enable. But not in this care apparently.

Thanks.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Write Failed / ZWave gReatAutomation 22 2,656 03-20-2020, 12:29 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  [ZWAVE] Zooz ZSE40 v2 simplextech 2 508 01-05-2020, 12:02 PM
Last Post: simplextech
  Please add Somfy ZRTSI to zwave models kfly 15 2,322 11-24-2019, 03:37 PM
Last Post: kfly
  Zwave lock battery level indicator on Field Checkbox kfly 4 1,297 09-07-2019, 05:34 AM
Last Post: kfly
  Clear out all previous ZWave info gReatAutomation 3 769 08-01-2019, 02:00 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  ZWave Issues / Aeotec gReatAutomation 16 2,714 07-26-2019, 06:21 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Zwave / Remove unused devices? gReatAutomation 2 531 07-25-2019, 02:27 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Going from Zwave to Lutron, worth it and what to do about the lock? ghurty 6 1,679 12-29-2018, 10:55 AM
Last Post: dogman
  Lutron Caseta & Zwave Issues dangerlong 191 50,466 12-19-2018, 06:40 PM
Last Post: tom
  How to update the new zwave stick/driver? ghurty 5 1,608 11-22-2018, 06:56 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)