Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
"Stay Awake" in Denon driver?
#1
My Theater is controlled with CQC and 14 devices. One of those is a Denon x7200. I have been using the X6200 driver for quite some time (there is no x7200 option) but a problem I am having is that after a number of days with no activity the driver looses connection. This results in my kick off template,  which looks for a "Ready" from the driver errors. This error shows up as a white block on the web interface and I have to reboot the tablet to go further. 
So, is there a "Keep Awake" section in the driver and if not can one be added. If there is, can the timing for it be reduced to better keep it connected?
Thanks
Thanks
George M
Reply
#2
The question would be why does it happen. Is the Denon powering itself off into some deeper power mode or something? The driver is continuing to poll the device, else it wouldn't know that the connection has been lost. So it's always talking to the Denon periodically. If that's not enough to keep the Denon awake, then I'm not sure if there's more we could do. And once it lost that connection it would immediately start trying to reconnect, but presumably the Denon is not responding.

Semi related but you can do the ready check as a conditional and prevent it from causing an exception which prevents it from loading successfully. If it retursn False, you could enable some otherwise hidden widget that tells the user something went wrong, with an OK button to hide it again. Something like that.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
I was trying to do a ready check but that wasn't working anyway. Maybe you can point out what is wrong. This is the first template that is brought up and that errors when the Denon is not connected.

Devices::FieldWrite
P1=Variable.CurrOverlay
P2=Primary
P3=False

If Not
Devices:Big GrinriverIsReady
P1=Denon_x7200w

Main_Overlay::LoadOverlay
P1=/User/Theater/Re-Connect Receiver

End

If
System::EvalExpr
P1=($(Denon_x7200w.PWR#Main~Status) == Ready) AND ($(JVC_RS500.PWR#Status) == Ready)
P2=False

Main_Overlay::LoadOverlay
P1=/User/Theater/Primary

Else

Main_Overlay::LoadOverlay
P1=/User/Theater/Start Up

End
Thanks
George M
Reply
#4
Maybe another question is:
Is Not Ready the same as Not Connected?
Thanks
George M
Reply
#5
You should probably put the second if part into an Else, so:

Code:
If Not Ready
   ....
Else
   If expression
   Else
   End
End

As it stands there, you are always running the second if even if the device isn't ready, and hence overriding the selection you made for that scenario.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#6
I'm running an X4000 over Ethernet. I've had intermittent issues with losing connectivity from the driver to the Denon as well ever since going to the V2 driver a few years back.  I've never spent the time to debug. I'm running the Denon X4000 V2 driver. (similar to the 6200 driver I think).

Curious if maybe we're having the same problem.  I've kind of chocked mine up to a Denon issue, but not really sure.  When you go offline, how do you get back online?  Can you just reload the driver? I can't.  I have to either unplug/replug the Ethernet connection for a few seconds or power cycle the Denon itself then CQC will load the driver again without any other intervention in either case.  Something kind of locks up the Denon's ip port.

Let me know.  That may inspire me to dig into this further if two of us are seeing the same thing.  To get around the issue I've set up a  triggered event to power cycle the Denon when Device is not ready.
Reply
#7
(10-20-2019, 06:08 PM)Shaky Wrote: I'm running an X4000 over Ethernet. I've had intermittent issues with losing connectivity from the driver to the Denon as well ever since going to the V2 driver a few years back.  I've never spent the time to debug. I'm running the Denon X4000 V2 driver. (similar to the 6200 driver I think).

Curious if maybe we're having the same problem.  I've kind of chocked mine up to a Denon issue, but not really sure.  When you go offline, how do you get back online?  Can you just reload the driver? I can't.  I have to either unplug/replug the Ethernet connection for a few seconds or power cycle the Denon itself then CQC will load the driver again without any other intervention in either case.  Something kind of locks up the Denon's ip port.

Let me know.  That may inspire me to dig into this further if two of us are seeing the same thing.  To get around the issue I've set up a  triggered event to power cycle the Denon when Device is not ready.
That's what I have to do. Unplug and replug the Ethernet cable. That's why as a last resort I wanted to be able to load a simple message to do this rather than have the error message come up that locks everything since in the webriva mode the box to dismiss the error is not visible.
Thanks
George M
Reply
#8
No issues here on by 4300x.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Denon x3600H won't connect dangerlong 8 53 Yesterday, 06:15 AM
Last Post: dangerlong
  Question on CQC Driver Pack Install kblagron 1 51 11-26-2019, 06:38 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Lutron RadioRA2 Driver and Lutron Visor Control gReatAutomation 24 612 11-18-2019, 02:41 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Possible Bug - Lutron RadioRA2 Driver and Thermostat gReatAutomation 39 1,059 11-13-2019, 03:57 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Serialization of CQC SMS Serial Interface Driver gReatAutomation 52 1,639 09-21-2019, 12:59 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Atlona Driver? cavalier240 5 337 09-16-2019, 01:29 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  HTTP Trigger Driver - see trained URL's? Shaky 1 139 09-15-2019, 12:25 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Spotify driver for CQC? znelbok 1 172 09-03-2019, 04:08 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  SONOS Driver Question gReatAutomation 13 617 08-23-2019, 12:37 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  New Z-Wave driver preview Dean Roddey 162 16,468 08-02-2019, 03:06 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)