Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Lutron RadioRA2 Driver and Lutron Visor Control
#21
OK, give this guy a try. As always, import, then do a reconfig on the driver to pick up changes.


Attached Files
.cqcdrvpack   RA2_WithContactClosures.CQCDrvPack (Size: 39.8 KB / Downloads: 1)
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#22
Thanks. I'll have a look at it.
Reply
#23
Thanks Dean. Am I supposed to use a specific option? I thought there would be a "Contact Closure" option. The options available are the same as previous:

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-11-18-at-09-03-26.jpg]

The package imports fine:

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-11-18-at-09-17-14.jpg]

I even deleted the driver and re-added it but Contact Closure is not in the driver info:

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-11-18-at-09-20-12.jpg]
Reply
#24
Oh, duh! Just sending you the driver pack won't help. The client driver was updated as well and it's a C++ driver so it can't be gotten except with a new code drop. Let me see where I stand. I have a number of changes. I need to take a look at the Dune driver, then maybe I can do a new drop.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#25
Sure no problemo. Thanks.
Reply
#26
Hey Dean, just following up on this to learn when there would be a new drop.
Reply
#27
Not yet. Because I'm doing this Linux stuff, the changes I'm making are much more fundamental than normal. So it takes a lot more time to test for a release, which means I can't do them as quickly as normal. And I'm also trying to make sure that something someone reported is either taken care of not my fault and it's a tricky one to be sure of (also made worse by the more fundamental changes I'm making, which are that much more suspect any time something appears iffy.) Of course the irony is that then it ends up being in some code that's been around forever, but you always suspect the stuff you've been changing and spend your time trying to blame that.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#28
Understood thanks for the context.
Reply
#29
So I'm not seeing any discrepancy between the driver's reported set point values and the ones shown on the thermo, either when setting them via the thermo interface or via the driver. I've been running them up a degree at a time, which would show up any rounding issue at some point when it hit the needed magic value, and they continue to agree.

There is a five second delay or so since the thermo doesn't immediately set the new set point. It waits until it's pretty sure you aren't going to make another change. But then it sends outs the value and they seem always agree for me.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#30
Updated thread: https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/s...?tid=10936
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Lutron Caseta Add Fan and Shade Controllers bryanb 1 40 11-29-2020, 10:16 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  ClickPLC driver now failing after upgrade znelbok 2 135 09-21-2020, 10:48 PM
Last Post: znelbok
  IR Control LesAuber 1 215 08-03-2020, 07:40 PM
Last Post: LesAuber
  Pentair driver tom 5 753 08-02-2020, 11:29 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  Marantz receiver driver (IP) dlmorgan999 6 684 05-15-2020, 03:32 PM
Last Post: dlmorgan999
  Lutron Caseta Occupancy Sensor bryanb 14 1,138 04-26-2020, 08:59 AM
Last Post: bryanb
  Variables Driver Client gReatAutomation 4 572 04-25-2020, 12:46 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  RadioRA2 & WaitDriverReady gReatAutomation 2 362 04-02-2020, 03:42 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  RadioRA2 Triggers gReatAutomation 3 422 03-25-2020, 05:11 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Reconfig of Driver Causes Built In Triggers to Fire gReatAutomation 2 458 03-25-2020, 04:09 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)