Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Honeywell TH8320ZW Thermostat - NoAutoMatch
#11
(05-23-2019, 12:10 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: I thought maybe it was a because it hadn't been matched, but I just forced the driver to make it think one of the units wasn't auto-matched, and I still get the right options.

Thanks. I'll let you know after I get Win10 Pro installed and start over.
Reply
#12
Dean, any ideas? I am not able to see the Manage Associations on Id 28 (Thermostat) 

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-13-11-49.jpg]

I also do not see Manage Associations on the Aeotec stick. I take it that it is normal that the Aeotec is in Disabled status?

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-13-14-36.jpg]
Reply
#13
This is extremely frustrating. I was able to Rescan Unit and get it to show GetUnitInfo state.

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-13-49-09.jpg]


But when I try to Query Unit Info I receive the following error:

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-13-48-32.jpg]


I'm pretty close to dumping this and moving on.

Uninstalling CQC and reinstalling again to see if I can get it to reliably and consistently do anything with at least a switch or dimmer.
Reply
#14
Oh, the thermostat is marked disabled in that first scenario. You may have done that by accident at some point. That would be why it woudln't show those commands (and why Enable is an option, to re-enable it.)

The other error is basically just communications issues. Thermos generally are beaming devices, and they can be finicky sometimes to communicate with. How far is the thermo from the CQC controller? If it's a pretty good distance it might be worth adding a repeater type module somewhere between them, or some other module that can repeat beaming type commands.

One common problem that occurs (and may cause wierdness related to secure/non-secure stuff) is that, if the initial replication fails after the unit info is transferred or before the security key exchange is completed, the master doesn't care. But it leaves CQC in the network non-securely. Another way that can happen is if you reset the Z-Stick, but you don't first remove it from the master and then re-add it. In that case, the master still thinks it's part of the secure network, so it doesn't even send it any key info, and again CQC ends up non-securely in the network.

That can make it fail on any queries to command classes that are marked secure in the target. Thermos and locks are often the only ones that use secure comms (though it's becoming more common in newer modules to use it in simpler devices as well.)

It might be worth it, just to be sure, to do an exclude on the Z-Stick (start exclude on the Leviton software, do a replication from the CQC driver.) Then include it again. Watch and make sure the CQC driver goes through the security setup. It'll show messages to that effect.

If you are still having issues with the thermo, and it's either a good distance away, or maybe there's something fairly substantial and metal between them, it might be worth adding a repeater module.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#15
(05-27-2019, 11:00 AM)Dean Roddey Wrote: Oh, the thermostat is marked disabled in that first scenario. You may have done that by accident at some point. That would be why it woudln't show those commands (and why Enable is an option, to re-enable it.)

The other error is basically just communications issues. Thermos generally are beaming devices, and they can be finicky sometimes to communicate with. How far is the thermo from the CQC controller? If it's a pretty good distance it might be worth adding a repeater type module somewhere between them, or some other module that can repeat beaming type commands.

One common problem that occurs (and may cause wierdness related to secure/non-secure stuff) is that, if the initial replication fails after the unit info is transferred or before the security key exchange is completed, the master doesn't care. But it leaves CQC in the network non-securely. Another way that can happen is if you reset the Z-Stick, but you don't first remove it from the master and then re-add it. In that case, the master still thinks it's part of the secure network, so it doesn't even send it any key info, and again CQC ends up non-securely in the network.

That can make it fail on any queries to command classes that are marked secure in the target. Thermos and locks are often the only ones that use secure comms (though it's becoming more common in newer modules to use it in simpler devices as well.)

It might be worth it, just to be sure, to do an exclude on the Z-Stick (start exclude on the Leviton software, do a replication from the CQC driver.) Then include it again. Watch and make sure the CQC driver goes through the security setup. It'll show messages to that effect.

If you are still having issues with the thermo, and it's either a good distance away, or maybe there's something fairly substantial and metal between them, it might be worth adding a repeater module.


Thermo is about 5 feet from the zwave stick. Did what you recommended and the unit is enabled, but I do not have those options. Item is enabled but no options.

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-18-23-54.jpg]



And, another repeated issue I have is that when I try to Query Unit Info, I get this:

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-05-27-at-18-22-56.jpg]

What I do no understand is why my ZWave stuff works on SmartThings, Home Assistant, openHAB, and Domoticz without any real issues.
Reply
#16
Z-Wave is a complicated protocol, and controllers have to become part of the Z-Wave network and deal with all of the gory details. Sometimes some controllers will just have issues with some modules and other won't, because Z-Wave isn't a very standard standard. There may be something about that particular module that is just giving us problems in a way we've not seen before. It wouldn't be the first one that was quirky in some way.

And, to be honest, Z-Wave isn't quite as big an emphasis for us as it is for some other systems. It's not something that would be used in pro installs ever. Not that we haven't put retarded amounts of time into supporting it. It's just a horrible protocol, and difficult to get right. Some of those guys above probably aren't using their own code, but something like openzwave, or some other third party library. Those also come with their share of gotchas, and I know some who do use openzwave are wanting to move away from it. We do our own, so we have to deal with these types of issues as they arise. If they do their own, they'll be able to have the same fun as us.

The thing to do, so that we can see what is going on, is to go to the options button in the lower right and enable the trace and put it into high trace mode. Then try the report. All of the back and forth between the Z-Stick and the thermo will be captured. Immediately go back and turn the trace off so we don't capture a bunch of goop from other things.

On the machine where the Z-Wave driver is loaded, go to [cqc]\CQCData\Server\Data\ZWaveUSB3. That is where the Z-Wave driver stores its files. There should be a Trace.Txt file there. Send me that file so I can see what is going on.


BTW, presumably the two issues above are related. It won't enable the association stuff unless the initial basic query of capabilities indicates it supports associations, else it would be useless to try to do such things. If it can't get through the query of the basic capabilities, it doesn't know yet that the device supports associations. So it all pretty much comes down to some failure to communicate with device.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#17
BTW, I guess I should also have said that those may also be acting as the master controller. That simplifies things in some ways, since they are in complete control. OTOH, it greatly increases the support burden because it's no longer just about integrating an automation system with Z-Wave, it now has to also provide all of the master controller type functionality. I just didn't want to go there.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#18
Here is the trace file.
Reply
#19
OK, it seems to be responding to everything. Now that everything is responding correctly, do a unit info query on it and let's see if we can get some good info about it's capabilities and such.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#20
(06-12-2019, 01:35 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: OK, it seems to be responding to everything. Now that everything is responding correctly, do a unit info query on it and let's see if we can get some good info about it's capabilities and such.




Code:
Name: Unit_32
Id: 50
Listener: True
Freq Listener: False
Man Ids: 39 11 1

Classes: 
    Association (2)
    ThermoSetPnt (2)
    ThermoMode (2)
    Basic (1)
    ThermoFanState (1)
    ThermoState (1)
    ThermoFanMode (3)
    SwitchAll (1)
    MLSensor (3)
    ManSpec (1)
    Version (1)


Supported Thermo Modes: (0x1827)
    Off Heat Cool Resume On EnergyHeat EnergyCool 


Supported Fan Modes: (0x43)
    AutoLow Low 


Supported Thermo Setpoints: (0x186)
    Heating Cooling Furnace DryAir 
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  920 Beta Bug - Lutron Thermostat gReatAutomation 5 946 02-12-2021, 06:13 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  NuHeat Signature Thermostat simplextech 3 1,505 01-04-2020, 06:43 AM
Last Post: khill
  Honeywell Wi-Fi 9000 thermostats - Anyone else use? kfly 2 1,985 12-26-2019, 05:16 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Possible Bug - Lutron RadioRA2 Driver and Thermostat gReatAutomation 39 12,427 11-13-2019, 03:57 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  MIMOlite Module - NoAutoMatch gReatAutomation 17 3,794 07-31-2019, 04:09 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Leak Gopher Control Valve - NoAutoMatch gReatAutomation 5 2,206 06-12-2019, 05:09 PM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Leviton DZR15-1RZ Receptacle - NoAutoMatch gReatAutomation 11 3,367 05-23-2019, 09:42 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Alarm Decoder for Ademco Honeywell Vista 20P gReatAutomation 4 2,022 05-22-2019, 07:26 AM
Last Post: gReatAutomation
  Is there a Thermostat that CQC can have two way schedule communication? ghurty 6 1,919 01-03-2019, 07:11 PM
Last Post: kblagron
  Is there a driver out there for the Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat? ghurty 18 10,691 12-21-2017, 06:29 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)