Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Video Widget
#31
So what is the cheapest camera I could get that we know for sure would work in the same way as the ones you guys are using? It would be very helpful to have a means to try it out here.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#32
I use Q-See (rebranded Dahua). Happy to send you one.

Mark
Reply
#33
Does it need any sort of infrastructure, or is it just a standalone thingie? It would be best probably to have one I could keep around for retesting though.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#34
(03-25-2017, 05:56 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: Does it need any sort of infrastructure, or is it just a standalone thingie? It would be best probably to have one I could keep around for retesting though.

stand alone camera you could have on permanent loan. It can also interface with their NVR but that's not required.
Reply
#35
What specifically is the model, so I could go poke around about it a bit?
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#36
QCN7001B
I'm in the process of upgrading from these 720p to higher res models however they are very similar as far as interface.

http://qsee.custhelp.com/ci/fattach/get/...-1_web.pdf
Reply
#37
Have you looked through this document?

https://qsee.custhelp.com/ci/fattach/get...tup(1).pdf

It talks about how to use their cameras with RTSP, and describes the RTSP URL you'd have to use. It would still, presumably, require you install an RTSP source filter for Windows to use. But it provides the info you need to create the right type of URL.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#38
(03-25-2017, 06:48 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: Have you looked through this document?

https://qsee.custhelp.com/ci/fattach/get...tup(1).pdf

It talks about how to use their cameras with RTSP, and describes the RTSP URL you'd have to use. It would still, presumably, require you install an RTSP source filter for Windows to use. But it provides the info you need to create the right type of URL.

Yes, I can stream within VLC but that's not what I'm looking to do. I think the bolded part above is where I'm lost.
Reply
#39
See the discussions up earlier in this thread. Apparently Windows doesn't include a Direct Show source filter for RTSP. So when you send an RTSP URL to the web widget, presumably it tries to create a DirectShow filter graph and can't find any source filter for that. Source filters are the ones that deal with actually getting the data from whatever it comes from, and then making it available to the next filter in the graph in some negotiated way.

I provided some links to some RTSP DirectShow filters earlier in this thread. Once one of those is installed, theoretically, DirectShow will find a handler for RTSP sourced content and be able to build a filter graph and process the data.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#40
thanks Dean, I'll review and give this a try.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Door locks and door video rhosch 24 5,387 11-07-2019, 12:35 PM
Last Post: rhosch
  New tutorial video Dean Roddey 2 1,648 11-27-2018, 07:15 PM
Last Post: ellisr63
  An idea for a new widget Dean Roddey 5 3,636 03-13-2017, 02:47 PM
Last Post: potts.mike
  Web browser widget Trioxide 7 4,609 02-25-2017, 06:30 AM
Last Post: Trioxide
  Security video with CQC bryanb 19 7,621 04-22-2016, 05:13 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Slider Widget potts.mike 1 1,789 04-19-2016, 04:59 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Field Incr/Decr Button Widget khill 15 6,508 05-17-2015, 01:04 PM
Last Post: dlmorgan999
  Overlay in an Overlay triggered by Widget Deane Johnson 4 3,159 11-09-2014, 10:29 AM
Last Post: Deane Johnson
  Load personal video files into repository? brathnach 7 4,163 05-14-2013, 02:06 PM
Last Post: wuench
  Set up a hardware DVD video library yarwoob 15 9,929 04-07-2013, 04:29 AM
Last Post: Bugman

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)