Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
New Amazon Echo Support - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: CQC Support (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: New Amazon Echo Support (/showthread.php?tid=9423)



New Amazon Echo Support - Deane Johnson - 07-31-2015

Excellent!


New Amazon Echo Support - George M - 07-31-2015

Thanks Bugman, great help. In going through your tutorial I see where I was making mistakes.

Now when i test it by saying "Alexa, ask Control" I get the verbiage read back that is in the java script. but when I tell control to do anything I get the message that she is having trouble accessing my skill right now. I've rebuild the skill a couple of times, but will try again. Or do you thing the problem is on the CQC side since I get now errors on the Amazon side?

EDIT: I forgot that I changed the ID. Now I do not get that response. Now She tells me that she doesnt know how to run whatever so I know the problems are on the CQC side. Will go over all that again.


New Amazon Echo Support - jkmonroe - 07-31-2015

are you forwarding the correct ports?


New Amazon Echo Support - Dean Roddey - 07-31-2015

One thing to check is to go to either the Echo app or the echo web page, and you should see a Skills tab there now. If you select that, you should see your CQC skill there. If not, something is wrong.


New Amazon Echo Support - Bugman - 07-31-2015

George M Wrote:Thanks Bugman, great help. In going through your tutorial I see where I was making mistakes.

Now when i test it by saying "Alexa, ask Control" I get the verbiage read back that is in the java script. but when I tell control to do anything I get the message that she is having trouble accessing my skill right now. I've rebuild the skill a couple of times, but will try again. Or do you thing the problem is on the CQC side since I get now errors on the Amazon side?

If you got Dean's welcome to cqc verbiage via Alexa the issue is on the cqc side (config file or the global action). Did you see the skill listed in the Echo skills? When I first setup the skill my url wasn't working but checking that wouldn't hurt with a website service that will scan ip address and port. If that's ok check the logs to see the incoming error or text posted.


New Amazon Echo Support - Deane Johnson - 07-31-2015

It would be nice to see Bugman's excellent "how to" continually massaged and updated as more technique is discovered.

The responses to specific problems, such as Dean's just above relative to the skills tab would make excellent "Troubleshooting" paragraphs located somewhere on the document. Otherwise they get scattered throughout the forum thread and lost.


New Amazon Echo Support - Dean Roddey - 07-31-2015

At some point here, as I'm able to start working on the new 5.0 docs, I'll start getting all of this new stuff into that.


New Amazon Echo Support - Bugman - 07-31-2015

Deane Johnson Wrote:It would be nice to see Bugman's excellent "how to" continually massaged and updated as more technique is discovered.

The responses to specific problems, such as Dean's just above relative to the skills tab would make excellent "Troubleshooting" paragraphs located somewhere on the document. Otherwise they get scattered throughout the forum thread and lost.

I agree and will do that as best I can. Now off to another hot day of golf. I may not get back to this until tomorrow.


New Amazon Echo Support - George M - 07-31-2015

I didn't realize there were responses. I edited my previous post but to respond here. I had changed my ID but forgot to change it in the java script. Since doing that i no longer get the same response error.

Now she tells me that she doesn't know how to run what i ask for, so the problem is now on the CQC side. I am going to go over that and try to find out where I went wrong there.

Dean, do I have to use the /echo directory under global actions for it to work?
All my global actions are just in the /user directory.


New Amazon Echo Support - George M - 07-31-2015

Dean Roddey Wrote:One thing to check is to go to either the Echo app or the echo web page, and you should see a Skills tab there now. If you select that, you should see your CQC skill there. If not, something is wrong.

Yes, it is there.