Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
Official RIVA thread - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: Third Party Development (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Third Party Development (General) (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+--- Thread: Official RIVA thread (/showthread.php?tid=5632)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39


Official RIVA thread - Dean Roddey - 01-05-2010

I guess I was kind of looking at it more from the perspective that some (potentially important) RIVA clients might not have any such ability to do this but would have ways to make simple sounds built into them. In that case, you would set up the RIVA specific templates not to point to actual paths, but to just use some identifying keyword. They don't actually have to be paths per se.

Those would then be used to trigger available built in sounds on the target device. I was thinking of like set top boxes in the future and things like that, or some these smarter remote controls that are showing up.

The way it has worked in the past is that it's assumed that the thing to play back will be availble on the client where the playback occurs. The path is interpreted as a local path. For instance, the back end may be a Windows Server machine that doesn't have the same files as the Vista/Win7 clients do, so it couldn't serve them up without having to move those files to the server.

So it's kind of tricky either way.


Official RIVA thread - brianmount - 01-06-2010

Got it. So it's not necessarily even a WAV-format file at all that's being played, correct? We could use whatever format we wanted.


Official RIVA thread - znelbok - 01-06-2010

What are the ports that are used for the RIVA client/server?

I can find reference to 13505, but I remember that there was a second port listed during install.

Is there anywhere that I can find all default ports used by CQC (documentation etc).

Mick


Official RIVA thread - Dean Roddey - 01-06-2010

brianmount Wrote:Got it. So it's not necessarily even a WAV-format file at all that's being played, correct? We could use whatever format we wanted.

Yeh, that's what I was assuming. And that in some cases the client itself isn't playng anything but just asking the OS to make some pre-defined sound or something.


Official RIVA thread - Dean Roddey - 01-06-2010

It will be the next port up from that, 13506, unless you changed it.


Official RIVA thread - SamVimes2 - 01-07-2010

Dean,

If I have a template with an overlay, and a RIVA client sends a hotkey, which template's action gets triggered?


Official RIVA thread - Dean Roddey - 01-07-2010

At whatever level is the top level template (i.e. base or topmost popup) it will search any overlays in z-order. The first one that provides a handler will get invoked and then we are done.

If no overlay handles it, the underlying parent template is checked. If it provides a handler, then that is run. If it doesn't but it provides an Otherwise type handler, then that is run. If there is no otherwise, then nothing is done.

The otherwise is never checked in the overlays, that's only checked at the base template level, otherwise, nothing could ever propogate beyond the first overlay.


Official RIVA thread - anogee - 01-14-2010

I don't want to change the flow of this but I'm wondering, is a Mac RIVA client available yet? How about a PC? When I last checked, the answer was kinda but not really. If so, do you have links?


Official RIVA thread - Dean Roddey - 01-14-2010

There's not a Mac one. There's one for XP, eXP, Vista, etc... It comes with the product. You have to enable the RIVA server and client during installation of course.


Official RIVA thread - potts.mike - 01-14-2010

As far as mac goes I thought I remembered some one compiling the .net viewer using mono and running it on the nokia tablets. If this can be done then there really is no reason that it could not be compiled using mono on a mac and have it work. I took a look at it but realized I was hopelessly lost