Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Driver Development (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Sage Media Server driver (beta) (/showthread.php?tid=5497)



Sage Media Server driver (beta) - batwater - 10-17-2015

I'm also still running Sage TV as a back end recorder and playback but it is not controlled through CQC at this time.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 11-19-2016

just curious, but now that Sage is very happily open source and under active development, and my previous statement about it being deader than a company gobbled up by google is no longer accurate, is there any reason why this driver is not part of the official release now?

I only ask as due to my previous VM melting down, I decided to start fresh, and it took me a couple hours of fiddling to realize I had the wrong Dev driver loaded... be nice if the correct one was part of the official release...

also would be nice if someone would edit the port field in the manifest of 2.7.9 (ie the correct worky one) to be editable...

and what is up with the SageMediaServer driver?
it does not appear to be very happy anymore?

attached is the log, seems rather upset really...


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - chmilar - 11-19-2016

I never stopped using SageTV, since it continues to do what I need it to do, and I never came across a satisfactory replacement.

While I have played around with the SageTV Media Server driver, I have not actually put it into regular usage. I just browse to content using the on-TV user interface of the SageTV players.

My wishlist would have the SageTV Player driver (which controls the Sage Media Extenders and software player) become a CQC Media Renderer, and the Sage Media Server become a set of CQC Media Repositories.

Why a "set" of repositories? Well, because the SageTV backend can serve up:

1) Music
2) Movies
3) Recorded television

The third is a type of media repository which does not exist in CQC, but I think it is different enough from Movies to warrant its own category (ie. television series are organized differently).

I believe that Dean is the only person that can make new Media Repository drivers, since they are written in C++ and the CML driver workshop does not contain support for creating Media Repositories.

However, I don't know if there are enough CQC/SageTV users around to make new work on the drivers worthwhile.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 11-20-2016

well, maybe now that Sage is FOSS there could be more users jumping on board?
at the very least it does make for a very stable media "back end"

and with the FOSS v9 it now supports "MiniClients" (aka little androids like Nividia Shield & such, and the android HU in my jeep, and my phone) so you are no longer are limited to just PC or sage extenders...

and for anyone running unraid, there is the 0 effort required docker install...

so hopefully more people will try out Sage... in any case, it seems unlikely their user base will shrink in the foreseeable future, so there is no down side to CQC to make the driver part of the main distribution.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - chmilar - 11-20-2016

I'm running v9, but I haven't been following the development very much. The miniclients sound very interesting. I'll check them out.

I love the extenders. They are the reason I started with SageTV. But, they will not progress beyond their current state, so it is good to see that new avenues are being explored.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - IVB - 11-20-2016

SomeWhatLost Wrote:and for anyone running unraid, there is the 0 effort required docker install...

um.....
SomeWhatLost Wrote:also been having some issues with my Sage Docker and the spinning wheel of DOOM!... and long pauses...

well, for an unrelated issue, I did a power cycle of my unRAID server...
and when everything came back up, there was no Sage docker anymore, there was no Win7/cqc VM anymore... and there was no cache drive anymore....

ok well i guess the "install" portion of it doesn't require any effort so I guess you're technically accurate.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 11-21-2016

IVB Wrote:um.....


ok well i guess the "install" portion of it doesn't require any effort so I guess you're technically accurate.
of course I am always technically accurate... was there ever any doubt?Confusedhock:

and fwiw, the 0 effort install did in fact help out here, after replacing the failed crappy OCZ drive with a shiny new Micron M500 SSD (I like these...) I installed the docker (0 effort!:-) ) and pointed it at the existing sage install drive/folder (it is different than the docker image stuff... it is the actual same old sage folder that everyone knows and loves..), the docker d/loaded the latest release code, and away it went... sage back up and running (already config'd) after a complete meltdown in under 5 minutes.... does not get much easier than that...

as for the spinny wheel of DOOOM!!!! I found the actual issue there too... turns out it was all CQC's fault...
well indirectly...
Due to CQC's reliance on windows, I was forced to run a win 7 VM.
IVB's M$ friends have been up to evilness wrt the win update thingy, for some reason win7 gets stuck chugging along pinning the CPU and using up all the resources looking for an update...


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - batwater - 11-21-2016

Okay so let me paraphrase what I thought I just read, you have SageTV running in a docker instance on UnRaid and you rebuilt it by pointing at the old config and it pulled in all the new and updated code and it just worked? That about right? If Yes, way cool!!!

I have SageTV running on a M$ 2008 server, loath to touch it as it is working. I'm wondering if I shared the existing SageTV directory and pointed the docker instance of SageTV at the share it would pull the config files and rebuild? Hmmm, a new project...

Is SageTV in the docker app catalog on UnRaid or do I have to go elsewhere?


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 11-21-2016

To deal with the update thing, you have to get the latest update agent and install it. Then let it grind for a day, then it will be ok.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 11-21-2016

batwater Wrote:Okay so let me paraphrase what I thought I just read, you have SageTV running in a docker instance on UnRaid and you rebuilt it by pointing at the old config and it pulled in all the new and updated code and it just worked? That about right? If Yes, way cool!!!
that is pretty much it, yea...

batwater Wrote:I have SageTV running on a M$ 2008 server, loath to touch it as it is working.
that is always a tough one... if ANYTHING unexpected happens, you will feel bad about messing with it...

batwater Wrote:I'm wondering if I shared the existing SageTV directory and pointed the docker instance of SageTV at the share it would pull the config files and rebuild? Hmmm, a new project...
II would make a copy of it and try it on the copy... no point on risking the up and running sage...
and there is the whole windows vs Linux thing, I am sure there are some differences?
either way, playing with a copy of your sage directory seems safer...


batwater Wrote:Is SageTV in the docker app catalog on UnRaid or do I have to go elsewhere?
if you installed the community apps thing on unraid, just click the "apps" thingy on the menu bar and search for SageTV
stuckless-sagetv-server-java8 is what most people are running...
java7 had an issue where it would never let you set the time zone... not sure that ever got fixed


just thinking, I wonder if it might be best to just install the Sage docker "stock" so to speak, using the stock locations, do a new install/etc... then once it is up and running, stop the docker and just replace the wizbin and properties files with the ones from your current system?
sure, you would have 2 servers running at the same time, might cause issues trying to get a tuner or whatnot, maybe disable tuners on the new install and make sure everything works first? or just have one running at a time?
I donno... I just tend to be very cautious with my sage...