Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Driver Development (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Sage Media Server driver (beta) (/showthread.php?tid=5497)



Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 07-19-2014

For CQC version 4.5.5 and beyond, some long standing issues in CQC's networking support were fixed, and it required a slight tweak to some TCP/UDP based drivers. The Sage Player driver is one. I updated the 2.78 version and posted a 2.79 version in the first post. Once you move to 4.5.5 or beyond you'll need to update to use that version or it won't compile.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 10-03-2014

I forgot, what was the trick to changing the port setting in the sage player driver?
I just updated to Dean's 2.7.9, and it doesn't allow for the port# to be changed... rather inconvenient really...

so Dean, did you base you updates on the worky:-) v2.9 located in post 642 or did you base your update on the old unhappy non-worky (as far as configuring the port goes) v2.7.8 from the first post in this thread?


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 10-03-2014

According to my post above, I updated the one in the first post, since I assumed that should have been the most recent one.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 10-04-2014

well, anyway, presumably making the port field editable was an easy tweak... anyone remember what that tweak was?


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 10-04-2014

Is this during driver installation you mean, the comm configuration? If so, then it just requires a change to the manifest file. In the comm config section there is an editable setting, which I think is Yes or No. Just change it to yes, then restart the service or system to pick up that change.

It will get overwritten on upgrade, but I can make that change in the shipped one as well.

But I just looked at the SageTCP one and it is already enabled. I looked at the SageTV one and it appears not to get a port during configuration. So if that's the one, a prompt will have to be added and that used instead of whatever it sets internally. That won't be terribly hard to do, if this is the one you are talking about.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 10-04-2014

the file is "SageTCPPlayer_Dev.Manifest"
and changing Editable to True allows the port number to be changed and all 3 of my sage player drivers are connecting to my 3 sage players and they are reporting back the correct info for each...
but I have a question...
there is a note/remark/rem/whatever it is called right before the editable setting saying that configuration should not be allowed...
Code:
- Define the connection configuration. We don't allow them to edit
       - the configuration, since it must always be this.
       -->
but if you don't allow editing, you would be stuck with only being able to have 1 extender (located at Sage.Server.IP:9100)
how is this suppose to work (assuming the remark/note thing is real, and not just some copied remnant from some other manifest)?



also, one last sageTV related question... any chance of this driver being V2'd/autogen enabled?

as Sage is deader than, well a company that got gobble up by google and decimated, it would make no sense for Dean to do it, but still it would be nice if someone who actually knew what they were doing (ie not me:oops: ) could V2 it...


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 10-04-2014

That text may have been a copy and paste from another manifest that was grabbed and used to create that one, and just never got removed.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SomeWhatLost - 10-16-2015

SomeWhatLost Wrote:also, one last sageTV related question... any chance of this driver being V2'd/autogen enabled?

as Sage is deader than, well a company that got gobble up by google and decimated, it would make no sense for Dean to do it, but still it would be nice if someone who actually knew what they were doing (ie not me:oops: ) could V2 it...
hey, just a question, but since Sage is no longer dead and is all happily Open Source now...
Any chance of someone V2'ing this driver? are there any sage users still left?


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - IVB - 10-16-2015

SomeWhatLost Wrote:hey, just a question, but since Sage is no longer dead and is all happily Open Source now...
Any chance of someone V2'ing this driver? are there any sage users still left?

I use it purely as a back-end recorder, I point plex at it and watch that way. Primary reason is that I can use a roku at the head-end, or a tablet, and watch status is sync'ed.

which, of course, means I have no interest in connecting it to CQC, so not a user in your meaning of the word.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - George M - 10-17-2015

SomeWhatLost Wrote:hey, just a question, but since Sage is no longer dead and is all happily Open Source now...
Any chance of someone V2'ing this driver? are there any sage users still left?

Absolutely use it. It's my main TV / Movie platform. But like IVB, I don't think I would use it through CQC.