Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Driver Development (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Sage Media Server driver (beta) (/showthread.php?tid=5497)



Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Dean Roddey - 11-25-2009

If you put a file path in a command parameter, you generally will want to double the slashes, or prevent processing of the path. So when you do:

\\Somenode\

That's going to come out \Somenode\ because the first slash escapes the second one. So really you want this if you are typing it in manually.

\\\\Somenode\\SomePath\\Somefile.whatever

If you are expanding some runtime value or variable, do this:

%(GVar:MyPath, "^1")

Which tells it, take the value in MyPath, replace the 1 in the format string with that, but the ^ says, don't do any further processing on it. So the slashes won't get processed.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Fonceur - 11-25-2009

I guess SageTV is already aware of that folder, if you can play the files through the extender/sagetv... Maybe post a log of such playback?


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - IVB - 12-28-2009

EDIT: Of course, minutes after posting, but yet hours after struggling, I try a hail mary answer to my question & it works.

never mind...


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Ron Haley - 12-28-2009

You can also use the my movies driver. Once you define the location and media type in my movies, you can use the same code to play all sorts of media.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Fonceur - 12-29-2009

I wasn't going to bring the thread to the top just for that, but now that it is... If anyone has an Android phone, while it's nothing related to a RIVA client (and doesn't really help making one), that is where my free time has been spent lately: taSageTV. This relies on the SageTCPServer and thus has the same available functionality... Of course this still needs some polishing.


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - cwilson - 02-24-2010

Hi,

I just installed the Sage Media Server and Sage Player drivers. The Media Server driver works fine, no problems whatsoever. The Sage Player driver, however, doesn't *do* anything. I turned on debugging in Sage, and I can see it connects, and receives commands, but nothing happens on the client.

Here's a snippet from the Sage debugging log:
Code:
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.481 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-MessageType]]: Found match with CMD
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.481 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Message received: CMD:Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.481 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Now 1 incoming message(s) in list.
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.482 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) There is now 1 incoming message.
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.482 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: The following UI context are available:
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.482 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) CMD:Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:39.482 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Assumed Sage command: Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-MessageType]]: Found match with CMD
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Message received: CMD:Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Now 1 incoming message(s) in list.
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) There is now 1 incoming message.
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: The following UI context are available:
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) CMD:Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:44.462 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Assumed Sage command: Down
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.771 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-MessageType]]: Found match with CMD
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Message received: CMD:Select
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Now 1 incoming message(s) in list.
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) There is now 1 incoming message.
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: The following UI context are available:
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: (Processing messages) CMD:Select
Wed 2/24 14:24:59.772 [Thread-5@98413d] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9100)]]: Assumed Sage command: Select

As you can see, Sage received two "Down" commands followed by a single "Select" command. However, the client GUI didn't show any change at all. It's still sitting there happy on the home screen.

CQC, Sage server, and Sage client are all on the same computer.

Any thoughts on what's going on, or how to troubleshoot further?

Thanks,

Chris


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - cwilson - 02-24-2010

I figured it out, much like IVB, a few minutes after posting. This is likely a problem others will run into though, as it's not clear in the installation instructions of post #43 of this thread.

I'm running Sage in "service" mode, so the back end and the client running on the same computer are using two different properties files. The Sage Media Server driver configuration has to be done in the Sage.properties file, but the Sage Player configuration has to be done in the SageClient.properties file. The syntax is identical in both.

The problem was I had put the configuration for the Sage Player in the Sage.properties file, not in the SageClient.properties file. It's working now that I corrected that.

-Chris

cwilson Wrote:I just installed the Sage Media Server and Sage Player drivers. The Media Server driver works fine, no problems whatsoever. The Sage Player driver, however, doesn't *do* anything. I turned on debugging in Sage, and I can see it connects, and receives commands, but nothing happens on the client.



Sage Media Server driver (beta) - Fonceur - 02-26-2010

That information is also found on the SageTCPServer wiki... I'll update the first post, if there wasn't already a link...


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - cwilson - 02-26-2010

Fonceur Wrote:That information is also found on the SageTCPServer wiki... I'll update the first post, if there wasn't already a link...
Good to know; I don't think that page was listed, but I could easily have missed it.

Best,

Chris


Sage Media Server driver (beta) - SamVimes2 - 02-28-2010

Fonceur,

I have been making successful use of the SageMediaServer driver for quite some time. I have a couple of observations/suggestions:

1) the 'recorded shows' set of lists is populated at first from youngest to oldest. when new items are added to the list, though, they are added to the bottom of the list. this makes it so the user has to always check the bottom of the list for the newest items, then go back to the top and continue downward. i would hope this is a simple fix, to merely insert the newly added items at the 'front' of the data structure rather than the 'back'.

2) the sage interface groups series together:
--Bones (10)
--SNL (3)
--Winter Olympics (10)
but the sage media server driver shows one flat list:
--Bones #1
--Bones #2
--Bones #3
--SNL #1
--Bones #4
--Olympics #1
--etc.

It would be nice to have some traversible grouping structure like in the sage interface. i can imagine this *not* being a simple fix :-)

anyway, a couple things for you to consider in between working on the android RIVA client :-)