Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
CQC Server? - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Installation/Configuration (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: CQC Server? (/showthread.php?tid=11072)



CQC Server? - gReatAutomation - 03-23-2020

I wanted to ask what everyone is using for CQC server. I currently have it running on an Intel NUC and am considering consolidating my NUC and my Mac Mini (runs PLEX) in to a single server.

Also, what is everyone doing for their server to ensure it does not automatically update and reboot, thereby killing CQC for that time. If the thing does reboot, it needs to auto login, etc., so that afterwards, CQC is up and running as prior to any reboot.


RE: CQC Server? - kblagron - 03-23-2020

(03-23-2020, 06:07 AM)gReatAutomation Wrote: I wanted to ask what everyone is using for CQC server. I currently have it running on an Intel NUC and am considering consolidating my NUC and my Mac Mini (runs PLEX) in to a single server.

Also, what is everyone doing for their server to ensure it does not automatically update and reboot, thereby killing CQC for that time. If the thing does reboot, it needs to auto login, etc., so that afterwards, CQC is up and running as prior to any reboot.

As far as my server - bought it in 2007 when I started with CQC, so lets just say its long in the tooth.  It's a Dell Optiplex 745, upgraded to 4 GB Ram and Core 2 Duo processor, and has gone from WinXP -> Win7 -> Win10.  It runs CQC and an instance of MS SQL (for the DataLog Driver) on it with no problems.  CPU Usage is between 10-15% and memory usage is about 55%.

I am running Windows Server 2016 and am able to prevent any updates from happening on the CQC server through the group properties.  It lets me know they are there, but won't update it, and I will update once I feel its a stable time to do so.  I do have it boot so it automatically logs in, but it sits in my wiring closet so not really in a place that I worry about.


RE: CQC Server? - gReatAutomation - 03-23-2020

hey thanks!


RE: CQC Server? - Dean Roddey - 03-23-2020

Running something like Plex on the same machine as CQC's back end may not be a great thing to do. Plex can be extremely CPU intensive since it doesn't jut serve up video data, it also converts it on the fly as well in a lot of cases.