Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
Hosted CQC server - Latency - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: CQC Support (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: Hosted CQC server - Latency (/showthread.php?tid=10986)



Hosted CQC server - Latency - zra - 01-05-2020

Hi Dean and forum,

I'm trying to install a RIVA/WEBRIVA server on a hosted Win2012 Server. 27ms ping both ways through an IPSEC VPN.

CQC install test is triggering an error.

Any advice? I've done this successfully in the past over a cell network with presumably a slower
network.

Not sure what else to try at the moment.


RE: Hosted CQC server - Latency - Dean Roddey - 01-05-2020

Shouldn't you just log in and run a remote desktop session there and do the install locally?


RE: Hosted CQC server - Latency - zra - 01-05-2020

(01-05-2020, 01:46 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: Shouldn't you just log in and run a remote desktop session there and do the install locally?

I am, but I can't get past the master server test.


RE: Hosted CQC server - Latency - Dean Roddey - 01-05-2020

You will have to insure that name resolution works correction across the VPN and that the IP address you get is something you actually access your MS at home with. And that has to be the name that the MS knows itself as locally on your home network. So you would need to be able to ping your MS at home using it's home address name and get a valid IP address that will connect to it.


RE: Hosted CQC server - Latency - zra - 01-06-2020

(01-05-2020, 04:23 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: You will have to insure that name resolution works correction across the VPN and that the IP address you get is something you actually access your MS at home with. And that has to be the name that the MS knows itself as locally on your home network. So you would need to be able to ping your MS at home using it's home address name and get a valid IP address that will connect to it.

That fixed it Dean, Thanks.