Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community
5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Printable Version

+- Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Beta Discussions (https://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread (/showthread.php?tid=10858)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 07-31-2019

I just got CIDBuild (my build tool) to run on Linux. It was just enough to spit out the usage info blurb, but that's a good step forward.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 08-05-2019

I just discovered a fairly significant issue in the multi-sensor and multi-outlet handlers in the ZWave driver. Mostly it didn't come too much to light since most of those guys are battery powered and non-listeners. It came to light when I was testing with the MIMO guy, which is a wall powered multi-sensor. If it's not plugged in when the driver connects, it won't always get back in sync if you then plug it in because the handler for that guy wasn't doing some of the active processing it's supposed to. Some of the fields might get updated via asyncs sent out when it powers up, but if not it wouldn't get those fields updated. That may also have affected even the battery powered ones in some ways.

I'll probably try to get a drop up tomorrow with that fix and the MIMI device support.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - gReatAutomation - 08-06-2019

(08-05-2019, 04:31 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: I just discovered a fairly significant issue in the multi-sensor and multi-outlet handlers in the ZWave driver. Mostly it didn't come too much to light since most of those guys are battery powered and non-listeners. It came to light when I was testing with the MIMO guy, which is a wall powered multi-sensor. If it's not plugged in when the driver connects, it won't always get back in sync if you then plug it in because the handler for that guy wasn't doing some of the active processing it's supposed to. Some of the fields might get updated via asyncs sent out when it powers up, but if not it wouldn't get those fields updated. That may also have affected even the battery powered ones in some ways.

I'll probably try to get a drop up tomorrow with that fix and the MIMI device support.

Thanks Dean.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 08-06-2019

I'm not going to quite make it tonight. I round a graphics issue that I'd introduced and needed to figure that out. It's the same sad story... Long ago I made a mistake in converting an area to a series of points, and had been adjusting for it ever since. I fixed the problem, but of course now there are all these adjustments that have to be unadjusted.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - kblagron - 08-07-2019

Here is something to consider in this beta - having the action trace able to be up prior to loading the IV.

I am running into a problem on an initial display of some fields that are in an overlay when I load the Initial Template.  It's very unpredictable, it happens about 90% of the time when I start up the IV, however within the IV, if I reload/clear globals, all the fields will show up.  Having the Action Trace available at load might help.  I feel it is a timing issue as I am changing the fields via LinkToField and SetWidgetColor in the Onload when the overlay is called.   I have played around with putting a short pause command in different places to get it to load properly, but without success.  I have a button on the display to refresh and it displays fine then.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 08-08-2019

Have you tried the delay option? It's /Delay=ss where ss is seconds. If the machine is struggling a bit with the initial loading that will give it time to get the exe itself loaded and settled before it starts loading the fields. Try it and see what happens, with say, 10 seconds or something.

Are you configuring the initial template or setting in the OnPreload action? Definitely configure it if possible.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - gReatAutomation - 08-08-2019

Where are the release notes for this release? After I install, the browser comes up with release notes from 5.4.0.

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-08-08-at-17-24-09.jpg]

What's interesting is that the file has a time stamp that shows the date/time of when I installed the 5.4.903 Beta.

[Image: Screen-Shot-2019-08-08-at-17-25-45.jpg]


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 08-08-2019

I don't update the release notes for betas. I do them just before the next release comes out.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - kblagron - 08-08-2019

(08-07-2019, 09:57 PM)kblagron Wrote: Here is something to consider in this beta - having the action trace able to be up prior to loading the IV.

First comment - Discregard the request, as you can run it until the error occurs, press okay, and then pull up the Action trace.  Which allowed me to figure out the problem.

Second Comment - The Wait didn't work, but that wasn't the problem.  I had a long convoluted action in the Overlay I was having problems with, and it ends up that it was an error in the code that was causing it to not display correctly.


RE: 5.5 Beta Discussions Thread - Dean Roddey - 09-02-2019

So I put in a bunch of time today working towards getting a Plex setup going with the new NUC thingie. Since they are bailing on the PC based client, I broke out the Roku3 instead and moved the NUC back to just being a little file server slash automation server. I tried to setup a self-signed certificate for Plex but wasted hours without result. They do have have a scheme where they assign your machine a unique name within their plex.direct domain and indirectly bless it for you when you go through their web interface to get to the server. I was looking at bypassing that but never got it to work.

I spent way too much time looking for the Roku remote control. Finally I gave up and sat down and decided to stow away the remotes I'd turned up in the little stash in the love seat center console. I popped the top up and there was the Roku remote.

Since they now support secure connections the drivers will have to be updated to deal with that, which I don't think they currently do.