Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community

Full Version: New Amazon Echo Support
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Go down in the javascript. Down there somewhere is a require(http) or use(http) or thereabouts. Change it to https.
That fixed it.  Overall, the process of getting a cert from Let's Encrypt went quite smoothly.  If anyone else wants to do this and has questions, I'll be happy to help!
(12-16-2016, 09:56 PM)dlmorgan999 Wrote: [ -> ]As I continue adding actions, I've run into an issue that I can't think of a way to solve.

Right now, I have this action:

Code:
    Action=\User\Echo\Temperature
        Bedroom Temperature, Master Bedroom Temperature, Bed Room Temperature, Master Bed Room Temperature
    EndAction

It does not need to be unique.  In one case, you are saying "Query bedroom temperature".  You will match that up with a CQCquery (or whatever its called)
in the utterances.  You will use a "Set temperature to"  in the utterances, and associate that to one of the CQCSet commands.  You can process both of
these in the one global action.  But you must check whether you are dealing with a set or a query by checking the CQCActParm_1 parameter.
This is in the QueryMap section and let's me ask for the bedroom temperature.  Now I want to add an action to the SetMap that would let me set the bedroom temperature,  but I can't use the logical choice for a target since they have to be unique across the entire config file (ideally I'd be able to say Alexa - ask Jarvis to set the bedroom temperature to 70).

Has anyone else run into  this?  If so, how did you address it?

(12-20-2016, 05:31 PM)Ron Haley Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-16-2016, 09:56 PM)dlmorgan999 Wrote: [ -> ]As I continue adding actions, I've run into an issue that I can't think of a way to solve.

Right now, I have this action:

Code:
You  must also define "bedroom temperature" in both the quert and Set elements of the config file
    Action=\User\Echo\Temperature
        Bedroom Temperature, Master Bedroom Temperature, Bed Room Temperature, Master Bed Room Temperature
    EndAction

It does not need to be unique.  In one case, you are saying "Query bedroom temperature".  You will match that up with a CQCquery (or whatever its called)
in the utterances.  You will use a "Set temperature to"  in the utterances, and associate that to one of the CQCSet commands.  You can process both of
these in the one global action.  But you must check whether you are dealing with a set or a query by checking the CQCActParm_1 parameter.
This is in the QueryMap section and let's me ask for the bedroom temperature.  Now I want to add an action to the SetMap that would let me set the bedroom temperature,  but I can't use the logical choice for a target since they have to be unique across the entire config file (ideally I'd be able to say Alexa - ask Jarvis to set the bedroom temperature to 70).

Has anyone else run into  this?  If so, how did you address it?
Is there an update manual that is newer then http://www.charmedquark.com/Web2/Downloa...ho_4_8.pdf?

I set everything up on the amazon side according to the pdf (well I thought I didn't anyway Big Grin ). At the developer site stared to set up that side and when adding the ARN I kept getting this error.

'Error: Please make sure that "Alexa Skills Kit" is selected for the event source type of arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:48511530****:function:CQC2"

The manual doesn't seem to indicate that on the Lambda side you need to go to the trigger tab and add 'Alexa Skills set' as a trigger. I kept assuming my mistake was on the developer side so I lost bunch of time there. The 4.8 manual doesn't seem to represent the current amazon website ... Any chance there is a newer manual?
They change it all the time, it's difficult to keep up. I'll try to make another pass it it before long.
I was looking a Sample Utterances file, specially for the SetToIntent.  I understand where there is a 'set' and 'set the' variation.  

What is the purpose of the having 'fifty', 'seventy five', and 'one hundred seventy five'?  I assume the fifty and seventy five is to allow for a single word and two word 'answer' for the target value.  

  • But why 'one hundred seventy five,' what 4 word value for volume is possible? ┬á┬á
  • When the value gets passed does it really pass a text string are numeric values converted to integers somewhere. ┬áEven in the CQC logs I see the value as 'sixty' etc? ┬á Does it ever get converted to an integer? ┬áIf not, that would lead me to believe I would need code for every possible temperature 'sixty eight', 'sixty nine', 'seventy', etc if I wanted to be able to set a themostat temp? ┬á Am I missing something?



Code:
CQCSetToIntent set {Volume|Target} to {fifty|Value}
CQCSetToIntent set the {Volume|Target} to {fifty|Value}
CQCSetToIntent set {Volume|Target} to {seventy five|Value}
CQCSetToIntent set the {Volume|Target} to {seventy five|Value}
CQCSetToIntent set {Volume|Target} to {one hundred seventy five|Value}
CQCSetToIntent set the {Volume|Target} to {one hundred seventy five|Value}
Volume isn't literal. It's just a place holder. It could be anything being set. So it leaves open the possibility of things beyond just percents for volume.

You won't get numbers, because that would require that we have specific commands for specific things, instead of an open ended system like we have. This is one of the downsides to the Echo. Unless you have an utterance that explicitly says it's a number, it gets sent as text. But we can't have utterances that explicitly take numbers, unless we limit the utterances to known things, like Volume.

However, I wrote a CML macro that will convert spoken numbers to actual numbers, which you can invoke from your action. If you search fro Num2Num you will find it and discussion of it.
Guys I have to apologize, I lead a team of a bunch of people and I hate when I get asked questions like this but in all fairness it has been a super long week.....

I have Alexa set up, the config file has been loaded and she's ready to go, but now what?

I really need to be hand held through the next steps. Lets say I am running 5.0.7, and I have a whole home stereo driver called "Russound" that has multiple rooms, how do I set up the config file and global actions (and make sure this gets in the right dir) to turn on/off a specific room?

(as a side note, thanks to the personalt that pointed out that on the Lambda side you need to go to the trigger tab and add 'Alexa Skills set' as a trigger, this was a pretty big road block for me until I read that - thanks!)
There is nothing built in to the Echo that allows us to know which room one is in. That's a big shortcoming to the whole thing. You can set up multiple skills, each with a different skill invocation name, and in each Javascript set a different security key. That key gets passed to your invoked actions, and you can use that to know which one got run.

I guess you could also have two different web servers, each on a different port, and point each of them at a different web server, and that would implicitly tell you which one it came from.

Otherwise, you would have to put the name of the room in the command in some way, and pull that data out in your action. But that means the user has to say the name of the room as part of the command.
Dean, my fault, I really was too granular, lets say I want to utter which room, how do I set up both the config file and global action (and how do I set this up using the Admin interface but place it in the cqc\cqcdata\server\data\echo\* directory)?

I would like to say "Alexa, tell control to turn on Livingroom stereo on", I've been struggling to figure out how to do this.