Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd. - Support Forums and Community

Full Version: Pico Buttons
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Thinking I'd try something "simple" I added my Caseta Pro bridge and setup a Pico button mapping for the client device.  That was simple enough.

I did enable triggers and I can see each button in the Trigger Monitor.  However there's a couple questions.

1. ButtonHeld/Released is not triggering.  Is this not supported?  Why not? Smile

2. How do I use these buttons for Events?  I created an event on user action and it performs 1 action.  Great I can press any button on the Pico and it turns the light off.  How do I make the Event trigger to a specific button and specific action?
You need to create a triggered event. You'll watch for the specific trigger you care about and you'll configure an action to run when that trigger occurs. Probably the easiest way to start is to watch the related videos.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZukPeRy55c

Then you can start at the high level help for events and start reading up on them in more detail.
Thanks. I forgot about that video out there. Been bouncing trying to explore and get something running.

I figured it out watching the Trigger Monitor though which is still really cool and I like it a lot.

I still didn't see anything from ButtonHold come through for the Pico on Caseta Pro bridge. Is that supported? I suppose I should unbox the RR2 setup and move the Pico's to the RR2 for some real testing. I'm wanting to get the ISY ironed first though.
The Caseta and RRA2 use the same driver. There are slight protocol differences but they are small enough that the same driver can suport both. They have separate driver manifests, but it's the same driver underneath. The manifest passes info to the driver to tell it which it's talking to.

I'm assuming the hold isn't currently supported, if you aren't seeing it. I'd have to take a look at the docs and see how that's handled.
(01-04-2020, 05:59 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: [ -> ]The Caseta and RRA2 use the same driver. There are slight protocol differences but they are small enough that the same driver can suport both. They have separate driver manifests, but it's the same driver underneath. The manifest passes info to the driver to tell it which it's talking to.

I'm assuming the hold isn't currently supported, if you aren't seeing it. I'd have to take a look at the docs and see how that's handled.

Correct I'm not seeing the ButtonHold so in turn I'm also not seeing the ButtonReleased not sure if that's the CQC action or not... but I know the Pico's with Caseta do support Pressed, Held, Released.  It would be great to have the Hold and Release to use for Dimming functions across platforms.  Using a Pico to Brighten/Dim a d Hue or LiFX bulb is very satisfying Smile
It's a little tricky to use something like that for dimming. The timing may not be accurate or fast enough for that and it can vary a good bit depending on what's going on in the system. More likely the really useful scenario would be to trigger something different on hold release than on regular press or release.
(01-05-2020, 11:08 AM)Dean Roddey Wrote: [ -> ]It's a little tricky to use something like that for dimming. The timing may not be accurate or fast enough for that and it can vary a good bit depending on what's going on in the system. More likely the really useful scenario would be to trigger something different on hold release than on regular press or release.

It was just an example that was fresh as I do that today with Insteon KPL and remotes with the Hue Nodeserver.  In most cases of the dimming it works great.  

However I'm sure there's more creative uses for the ButtonHold than just dimming.
Trying to setup the Pico to trigger the event. I see the event trigger info....

[TIME: 19:22:39]
cqsl.header
{
v=1
sysid=416EC36EBA7EECAD-8C773873E24D6111
class=cqsl.useract
source=cqsl.dev:Caseta
}
cqsl.actinfo
{
evtype=ButtonPress
evdata=Pico1_2-2
}

I've tried using the Is User Action For and From and just Is User Action and nothing is triggering the event. I'm watching the log and nothing is happening. Is this the correct trigger event?
You would generally want to do IsUserActionFor and indicate driver moniker (Caseta) and the event type (ButtonPress). You will have to react to the event data internally in the event action, to react to a specific button.
(01-07-2020, 04:47 PM)Dean Roddey Wrote: [ -> ]You would generally want to do IsUserActionFor and indicate driver moniker (Caseta) and the event type (ButtonPress). You will have to react to the event data internally in the event action, to react to a specific button.

That's what I have currently and I see the event in the monitor but it doesn't show in the logs as the event running???
Pages: 1 2