Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
CQC PC requirements
#1
I am getting ready to install Windows on my i5, and was wondering if I might be better to use the i5 for my video movie server since I stream 1080p, and 4k movies. If I did this I would install Windows 7 on my Celeron NUC along with JRiver, and MyMovies. Would my Celeron NUC be able to handle Windows 7, JRiver, and MyMovies? I would not be viewing movies from MyMovies...only using it to rip movies to my hdd, and then copy to my NAS for playing. JRiver, and CQC would be the only things I plan on using with the Celeron. The only possible other thing would be to run Photoshop for my images..
tia, Ron

My HT...
Yamaha CX-A5100, (4) JBL 8320s), PS3, Celeron NUC, (2) Furman rack conditioners, APC HT conditioner, (2) APC Battery Backups, Panamorph UH-480, Dune HD pro 4k, Dune HD Pro 4k plus, DIY B&O amp modules, Pro-Ject RPM Turntable, DIY audio rack, Klipch 402  horns.
Reply
#2
Movie ripping and Photoshop at the same time might be pretty heavy work that is also acting as an automation server, make sure it has plenty of memory.

Keep in mind that streaming movies isn't that heavy. It's the actual rendering (or in the case of something like Plex the possible re-encoding) of the movies that is really heavy. If it's just streaming the the data for other things to play, that's probably not too bad as long as that doesn't saturate the I/O capabilities of the guy trying to stream multiple movies at once or something.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
Since I will only be streaming one movie at a time, and never streaming or ripping at the same time as Photoshop... I should be fine, right?
tia, Ron

My HT...
Yamaha CX-A5100, (4) JBL 8320s), PS3, Celeron NUC, (2) Furman rack conditioners, APC HT conditioner, (2) APC Battery Backups, Panamorph UH-480, Dune HD pro 4k, Dune HD Pro 4k plus, DIY B&O amp modules, Pro-Ject RPM Turntable, DIY audio rack, Klipch 402  horns.
Reply
#4
photoshop sucks up memory like a pig. I decided to separate it from any of my other stuff.

And whatever you do, do NOT run lightroom facial recognition on a machine that does any HA stuff. OMFG...
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Network resource requirements. fze9002 30 5,654 01-11-2009, 07:43 PM
Last Post: bph
  Another newbie looking for validation/feedback on requirements and configurations myrddin 7 1,784 05-08-2008, 04:50 PM
Last Post: Mikla
  Thin Client minimum requirements robolo 2 1,029 07-17-2007, 08:11 PM
Last Post: robolo
  Interface View and Embedded XP Requirements MikeW 4 1,455 02-28-2007, 05:58 PM
Last Post: Bodshal
  CD Changer field requirements rhamer 9 1,247 11-23-2006, 07:48 PM
Last Post: rhamer

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)