Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Widget table doesn't update Attributes tab
#1
5.3.2: When you select a widget in the widgets tab (glad to see this return), the bounding box is highlighted on the template page, but the attributes tab does not update.  So its still kind of hard to update the attributes of widgets which are under other widgets.

Also, the current interface errors window promises "Select an error to find the offending widget.  Double click to remove one.", but this does not seem to work.

Thanks -- Bob
Reply
#2
I'll look into those things.

BTW, you can drill down select as well. You can Alt-click and it will move down one layer at a time, till it hits the template itself, then cycle back around. So that will let you get a covered widget selected for editing as well.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#3
Okay, the Alt-click thing works pretty well. The widget type displayed on the bottom of the window doesn't update, but the attributes page does.

Can you point me to the key-board shortcut/gestures doc so I won't forget this?

Thanks -- Bob
Reply
#4
Under /Tools are all of the 'how to use the tools' stuff. So Admin Interface, then it follows the tree browser hierarchy so Customize -> Interfaces.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#5
So, just to follow up, the widget info in the status bar doesn't update because that's driven by mouse over, not by selection. Your mouse is still over the covering widget, so it still shows the info for that widget. Initially in 5.x the status bar was driven by selection, but that's not really optimal. You want to be able to move it around and see information without changing selection.

I'll look next at the single selection in the widget palette.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#6
Ok, that is fine, but it is hard to tell what type of widget is selected. The attributes dialog gives you a hint but doesn't tell you outright...
Reply
#7
If more than one widget is selected it wouldn't show anything either, so that was a another reason why selection wasn't so great.

I made the change to get the attribute editor loaded if you select a single widget in the widget palette.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Has there been changes to Slider Widget? pjgregory 11 1,479 03-10-2018, 10:32 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Interface Template editor widget view gone? rbroders 3 610 02-03-2018, 07:22 PM
Last Post: rbroders
  A word of warning regarding the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update Mark Stega 40 6,770 11-13-2017, 10:56 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Field Boolean Text Widget issue greymatter 5 1,765 08-26-2017, 04:45 PM
Last Post: greymatter
  Widget Locator zra 6 1,839 08-09-2017, 06:06 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Camera Widget dogman 1 808 07-08-2017, 04:54 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Graph Widget - There is no editor for data type float zra 4 1,415 07-06-2017, 02:25 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  COuld not update triggers znelbok 11 2,450 06-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Last Post: znelbok
  SOLVED -- Web widget / Spotify agarden 4 1,895 05-27-2017, 05:38 PM
Last Post: agarden
  5.1 Web widget Mark Stega 9 2,638 05-21-2017, 03:19 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)