Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Macros won't load in editor - service restart required
#1
Another bug report...

I went to edit some CML code on my CQC server.

Opened macro workshop, clicked new session, clicked on any macro.

Got some weird error I didn't write down about macro not loading and the program would exit.

I tired it a few times and got the same results each time. Finally I Restarted CQC service and the problem went away.
--Kill all the serial ports--
Reply
#2
That appears to be another one that is unique to you. I've not heard anyone else having this issue. Is this on the same machine as before? And can you load the same macros on the MS?
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#3
BTW, when you say any macro, I assume you mean ones you wrote, right? Can you create a new one ok? If so, can you then do Ctrl-R and navigate over into the System section and open up some over there?

If so, then perhaps there's something about your macros that is freaking things out. That might explain why it's just this one program that's causing problems for you.

Though, if you can open them on the MS that will point in some other direction so that needs to be tested.

If you can't open your own on the MS either but our macros work fine on either machine, then you can zip up your User macros directory and send it to me and I can try them here to try to find out what is going on. Maybe you managed to get some round about circular import reference or something like that? It shouldn't freak the engine out but I guess it could, and if it started a constant merry go round of downloading and compiling, that could cause weird things to happen.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#4
Not sure what you mean by "same computer before". I have random issues on both the client and the server. The last issue was on the client.

MS you mean master server? To me CQC server = Master server. So yes.

The macros I was trying to load are the user macros. I didn't think to try other ones.

I don't see how sending them to you would help. The problem disappears when restarting CQC. I don't know how to reproduce it.
--Kill all the serial ports--
Reply
#5
Previously you were having issues with the macro WS on the client, but it seemed fine on the MS (master server.) So I'm just wondering if this particular issue (which isn't the same as before) shows up on both machines or just one. If it shows up on both, then it's more likely to be something to do with the macros themselves or the loading thereof. If it only happens on one, then it's more likely something local. So it's an important distinction to know where to look.

As to reproducing it, you indicated it happened multiple times, and I had the feeling you meant it was consistently happening every time you try to load a macro. Is that not the case? Do they work at first and then stop working until you cycle the server?
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#6
Yup, all the macros i selected gave me an error.

No, they didn't work at first. I just logged into the server and it was immediate until restarting the service.
--Kill all the serial ports--
Reply
#7
And now they are all working again? If so, then keep and eye on it. If you get it in that condition again, let me know so that we can take a look at what's happening. Of course check the logs to see if the MWS program is spitting out anything in response to trying to load the macros. And definitely try to run the same thing from another machine. That's always a very useful divide and conquer operation, since either way it makes some broad swathes of code more or less suspect.

Do you maybe have any particularly large macros or anything about any of them that might be out of the ordinary? Any possibility of an indirect circular import perhaps?
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Sonos stops after CQC restart batwater 1 96 05-18-2018, 10:12 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Alexa can't load configuration mattheinrich 1 218 03-24-2018, 08:45 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Backup without Stopping Service RichardU 5 446 02-14-2018, 02:28 PM
Last Post: znelbok
  Interface Template editor widget view gone? rbroders 3 411 02-03-2018, 07:22 PM
Last Post: rbroders
  Show template scope in editor dlmorgan999 3 778 09-05-2017, 05:19 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Interface Editor and Creating Interfaces bobskie708 1 658 08-27-2017, 01:43 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Graph Widget - There is no editor for data type float zra 4 1,194 07-06-2017, 02:25 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Upgraded to 5.1.0: Cannot Load Driver Jnetto 8 2,202 06-13-2017, 05:55 PM
Last Post: Jnetto
  Truncation of lines in the Action viewer / editor dlmorgan999 3 1,146 05-09-2017, 04:21 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
Exclamation Windows as a service? Now, there’s an argument for Linux batwater 5 1,572 04-19-2017, 10:42 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)