Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
VRCOP/latest CQC version?
#1
Does anyone else have a VRCOP and are you using the latest beta? I'm trying to figure out why mine stopped working recently, realized the only change i've made is downloading the beta. I can't get it to work, despite infinite reboots and power cycles.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#2
Make sure you've set up the driver and VRCOP to match baud rates. You have to send a command to the VRCOP via a serial terminal or something to tell it what rate you want it to work at, then you set the driver to match.

What are you seeing in the logs if you set it to verbose? I have the VRCOP driver loaded here all the time during testing, so I'm pretty sure the driver hasn't been affected by any beta changes.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#3
ok, i'll have to hunt down that command. It was working fine for a long while, so no other changes made.

Here's what I see, basically it cycles (but is rarely available):

Code:
09/08 17:56:48-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl3.cpp.649, Status/App Status
    (Driver=VRCOP) - Unit MBR (27) accepted incoming basic report. Value=99
}
09/08 17:56:54-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    ZWaveLeviS, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl3.cpp.293, Failed/Timeout, Error: 1002/0/0
    Timed out waiting for message
      ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl3.cpp - 184
      ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl.cpp - 1673

}
09/08 17:56:54-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl.cpp.1681, Status/App Status
    (Driver=VRCOP) - Exception occured while polling. Unit=Kitchen
}
09/08 17:56:54-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl.cpp.846, Status/App Status
    (Driver=VRCOP) - Exception occurred in poll round
}
09/08 17:56:56-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl.cpp.896, Status/App Status
    (Driver=VRCOP) - Lost connection during poll, recycling...
}
09/08 17:56:56-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, CQCDriver_DriverBase.cpp.6963, Status/Lost Connection
    Driver 'VRCOP' has lost connection to it's device
}
09/08 17:56:56-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, CQCDriver_DriverBase.cpp.6997, Status/Lost Connection
    Driver 'VRCOP' has lost its communcations resource
}
09/08 17:57:01-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, CQCDriver_DriverBase.cpp.3504, Status/App Status
    Driver 'VRCOP' is trying to get its comm resource
}
09/08 17:57:01-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, CQCDriver_DriverBase.cpp.3543, Status/App Status
    Driver 'VRCOP' has its comm resource
}
09/08 17:57:01-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, CQCDriver_DriverBase.cpp.3561, Status/App Status
    Driver 'VRCOP' is trying to connect to its device
}
09/08 17:57:01-MainServer, CQCServer, CQCDrv_VRCOPThread11
{
    CQCKit, ZWaveLeviS_DriverImpl.cpp.571, Status/App Status
    (Driver=VRCOP) - Trying to connect to Z-Wave controller
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#4
I'm not sure why it's failing on the Kitchen unit, but it should not be losing the connection in this case, it should just log the error if verbose and put that unit into error state. But, I see that it is throwing an exception after logging the message.

I will remove that for the next round. If you can figure out what's not happy with the Kitchen module, or just disable polling on it for the meantime (assuming it's the only one with an issue), that would probably keep it happy until the fix arrives.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#5
Looking at it more closely, it wasn't quite as wrong as it looked. What would happen is that, if it gets an exception while doing a poll round, it will send a simple ping to the VRCOP to see if it is still alive. And it would only drop the connection if that ping didn't work.

So, actually, it looks like it wasn't that wrong, though I made some other small tweaks while looking into it. It's possible it tried to do the ping too quickly and it got a bogus failure, or that it might not update the minimum inter-poll timer if it got an exception, so it might poll the next time too fast after one failed. So I fixed those things for the next round.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#6
ok cool. I tried to set Kitchen to "ignore this unit" (had to watch for it to go online), but I press "save", get the "zwave scan has begun", then it goes offline, and when it comes back it hasn't saved it.

Here's the logfile in case you want to confirm there's no other funny biz. These are all my original intermatic switches from 2009, many are starting to fail.


Attached Files
.txt   CIDLogFileSnap.Txt (Size: 13.13 KB / Downloads: 1)
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#7
That's interesting. Can you just remove the kitchen unit and try it? It's still failing on that unit after you reloaded. If that updates ok, then try adding it back without any polling and see how that goes. Let me know either way.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#8
It won't let me delete it. As soon as I press "save", it goes offline, then comes back with it still there.
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
#9
Can you get me another log dump when you try to delete it? Flush it first so only that one scenario is in the logs.
Dean Roddey
Explorans limites defectum
Reply
#10
ok here you go.


Attached Files
.txt   CIDLogFileSnap.Txt (Size: 52.51 KB / Downloads: 1)
------------------------------------
Some of my devices: Sonos, Aeotec zWave, Nest, Rain8Net, Various H/T
What's next: CQC-Voice, Brultech GEM
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Last Version for XP znelbok 1 2,085 06-30-2015, 07:42 AM
Last Post: Mark Stega
  CQC hangs (latest beta) Bugman 7 4,758 11-19-2014, 05:03 PM
Last Post: Bugman
  Version 5.0 thinking out loud Dean Roddey 25 9,586 10-04-2013, 08:22 AM
Last Post: pjgregory
  Rolling back version dogman 6 2,560 02-03-2013, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Version 3.0 preview Dean Roddey 9 3,841 06-30-2009, 10:31 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Time to move up to the latest beta Dean Roddey 2 1,870 04-28-2009, 08:58 AM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  UPB Status Error in Beta Version 2.4.26 Forefront Technologies 0 1,522 01-21-2009, 11:47 AM
Last Post: Forefront Technologies
  Driver version checking robolo 11 5,488 09-25-2008, 12:24 AM
Last Post: robolo
  Latest Version dirtracinfan 11 4,946 12-05-2007, 09:07 PM
Last Post: ellisr63

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)