Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Android RIVA Client: taRiva
I meant a version of the old historical one.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
Dean Roddey Wrote:Check the CQC logs for anything on the CQC side that's maybe rejecting the connection or something. Run it and let it fall over, and see if anything new shows up in the logs on our side.

FYI nothing in the logs.
------------------------------------
Devices I can't stand and wish I could replace: SmartThings, Hue, Concerto, VRUSB
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
OK, it must be the Android client that's unhappy.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
i'm unhappy too...

[Image: giphy.gif]
------------------------------------
Devices I can't stand and wish I could replace: SmartThings, Hue, Concerto, VRUSB
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
I know there was previous discussion on how to get to the logs, here on the forum.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
kblagron Wrote:I used to use TaRiva on an Android phone, and for whatever reason it quit connecting. I had seen Wuench mention RemoteRDP, and it works great, so just switched over to that - probably 1+ year ago.

How do you handle scaling of the screen on the android device so that it comes up readable?

How do you handle security of the RDP port on your router so that the world doesn't have access to RDP, just user ID and password?

With the Riva ports, they are foreign specialized protocol just for CQC, using an RDP port (opening one up on the router) exposes a standard protocol to the world...
Reply
IVB Wrote:Shaky, what RDP app are you using? And how do you setup the server viewer?

I'm using the Microsoft RDP client for Android. I've had good luck with it. It's quite simple and not much can be changed/customized on it which I usually hate but in this case it just works. I use my main touchscreen templates which are 1024x768. It seems to scale them to the screen well.

I first set up the multi RDP user hack on the CQC server for the windows version I'm on. That way you can have an RDP only user and log into the system at the same time as the main user is on (so it doesn't log anyone out on your main system). If you have a MS server based OS (or maybe pro version) I think this multi-user part is included. I found it necessary to have multi-users otherwise this doesn't work well. Google multi-RDP hack or RDP wrapper. You can either hex edit a file or use RDPwrapper. I've done both and with the hex editing each time Microsoft updates the termsrv.dll file with an update you have to edit again. So I've moved on to using the wrapper which I found a bit easier.

I think having RDP open to the internet is not a great thing. I'm willing to take the risk for now but the default RDP server setup is not the best. You'll want to beef up the security if you try this. Change the port and other security settings like enforcing a timeout for multiple failed attempts to prevent scripts attacking your ip etc. I followed a guide here. Don't forget to specify the port # in the RDP client as well if you change the default. Typically just add :#### after the ip to specify the port number.
Reply
Quote:How do you handle scaling of the screen on the android device so that it comes up readable?

Remote RDP on my android lets you scale it to your template size, and I have a login account that runs the IV full screen to the size of the template.

Quote:How do you handle security of the RDP port on your router so that the world doesn't have access to RDP, just user ID and password?

I have the IP addresses locked down so that only two (work & phone) can actually get to the RDP. There is probably a better way than that, but I check the Security logs and it looks like it is doing its job.

Quote:With the Riva ports, they are foreign specialized protocol just for CQC, using an RDP port (opening one up on the router) exposes a standard protocol to the world...

I agree, hopefully a better option will be available down the road.
Reply
I took a look at the Android logs, this is the only thing of interest I can find:

Quote:ActivityThread(26976): android.app.IntentReceiverLeaked: Activity tallus.android.riva.TARiva has leaked IntentReceiver tallus.android.riva.TARiva$2@acff20 that was originally registered here. Are you missing a call to unregisterReceiver()?

Here's the snapshot in case folks think there's something else i'm not seeing.

[Image: RtdowpCh.png]
------------------------------------
Devices I can't stand and wish I could replace: SmartThings, Hue, Concerto, VRUSB
My vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/IVBsHomeAutomation
Reply
Yeh, that's just internal stuff. And you are sure the time stamps correspond to the time you had it fail, right?
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  TaRiva on Samsung Galaxy Tab 5 ellisr63 17 7,361 12-29-2015, 07:55 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Native Android app (auto-gen based) Dean Roddey 156 33,582 10-19-2015, 03:28 PM
Last Post: Shaky
  RIVA Client: PlayBook 2.0 Fonceur 13 10,221 11-15-2012, 10:18 PM
Last Post: xlurkr
  native scroll for android client pasha 14 8,628 05-07-2012, 03:15 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  android app burkepaol4 1 6,948 12-19-2010, 07:12 PM
Last Post: Fonceur
  10 android burkepaol4 4 7,820 12-19-2010, 06:44 PM
Last Post: burkepaol4
  Android client ? willplaice 33 25,125 08-14-2010, 10:42 AM
Last Post: Fonceur

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)