Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Uverse and Sonos
#1
I finally got tired of Comcast charging too much for internet service, so I signed up for Uverse and didn't realize that their router/gateway doesn't provide Upnp, which made the two Sonos drivers not connect. I ended up having to set the box up as a pseudo bridge and put my router back in downstream to allow it to connect with the Sonos drivers.  Just something to think about if your using Sonos.
Reply
#2
The router really shouldn't be an issue. It wouldn't block UPnP on the local network. However, UPnP does use broadcasts, so if you don't have everything on the same sub-net, you'd have to make sure that broadcasts are getting passed across those boundaries.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#3
(01-20-2017, 10:51 AM)Dean Roddey Wrote: The router really shouldn't be an issue. It wouldn't block UPnP on the local network. However, UPnP does use broadcasts, so if you don't have everything on the same sub-net, you'd have to make sure that broadcasts are getting passed across those boundaries.

Maybe it was a timing issue and the AT&T router is slow (It's a Pace 5268AC).  I already flushed the logs, but initially it worked fine and then I rebooted the CQC server, the two Sonos drivers wouldn't connect.  Sometimes the ZonePlayer and Sonos media renderer would show up in the reconfig dialog, and sometimes it wouldn't when you selected "Search".  Even when it did show up, it never would connect, and the logs said something about never receiving a message. 

The problem has gone away now that I bypassed using the AT&T router as my main router.
Reply
#4
Definitely something weird going on there for sure. It must interfere in some way. Of course it could just be a bug that could be gotten rid of with a firmware update, so probably worth checking.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply
#5
Do you think it could be that my Repositories were getting rebuilt after the reboot, and the server was slow to respond because of the traffic going on during that time? I suppose I could give it a shot again and let the repositories fully populate themselves and see if it connects.
Reply
#6
I doubt it. I don't think that would remotely saturate your LAN. Of course with networks anything is possible.
Dean Roddey
Software Geek Extraordinaire
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Sonos going public? Dean Roddey 0 769 07-07-2018, 10:08 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Scheduling next webinar (Sonos/TTS) IVB 6 1,893 02-04-2018, 10:51 PM
Last Post: IVB
  Lutron adds support for Alexa and Sonos ControlFreak 2 1,881 12-10-2016, 08:47 AM
Last Post: dgage
  Sonos opens its platform to Spotify Connect and Amazon's Alexa batwater 14 3,312 09-06-2016, 02:41 PM
Last Post: potts.mike
  Sonos TTS potts.mike 35 4,932 03-25-2016, 10:46 AM
Last Post: batwater
  CQC Media Repo - Sonos potts.mike 15 3,251 03-10-2016, 12:28 PM
Last Post: Dean Roddey
  Sonos Opinions zra 51 7,353 01-30-2016, 06:16 PM
Last Post: jkmonroe
  Question for Sonos Owners jkmonroe 23 5,906 09-27-2015, 11:11 AM
Last Post: kfly
  Sonos - How Are You Doing It? karenlee 32 8,268 08-05-2015, 02:07 AM
Last Post: finish.06
  An open SONOS API? Dean Roddey 9 2,447 01-29-2015, 10:09 AM
Last Post: jkmonroe

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)